The Communication Obligation Of Instant ConnectionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #communication5 years ago

Hey Instant Jessies

What do you do when you receive a notification while you’re working or having downtime, maybe watching a movie or reading a book? Do you feel obligated to reply? I don't! I can ignore my phone for hours even days on end. If it were really important people would call.

My behaviour doesn't sit well with many people who think that the fact that they have my contact details means I am obligated to respond immediately to anything they have to say. Let's be honest, how often are any of our text conversations more meaningful than wasting time? Very few I would imagine.

More speed, more haste, even more, waste!

As the pace of our world picks up, an increasing number of things are becoming instant. We can buy with one click and contact anyone from anywhere at any time so where do we draw the line?

This instant access is great, but it brings challenges.

For many people, a notification or new message dictates a need to immediately respond. The internet cultures can inadvertently create an expectation of an immediate response. If you don't you're selfish and it's always the receivers fault.

I don't understand why I am obligated to respond to every brain fart you have or request?

problem_with_im_516099.jpg

Image source: - dmnews.com

Mental conditioning

We've become conditioned to share, conditioned to engage and obligated to respond. We keep conversations going longer than they are productive and we use it all to keep ourselves distracted.

We don't think of taking time out for ourselves, focusing uninterruptedly on a task, meditating, thinking, reading and all the things your brain actually needs.

It reduces our level of concentration and the ability to deeply focus and also takes away from our personal space. Technology is great, but just like money and other man-made devices, it can quickly make you the slave if checks and balances are not put into place.

Less screen time, more me-time

We often speak about "me" time but how often do we actually spend with ourselves? How well do you know yourself? I don't think many even do, nor stop to ask that question. It's all a game of constant distraction and reaction.

If you give away your mental capacity and attention cheaply then don't expect anyone to value it. If you focus your time on cheap thrills don't expect to find any meaning in your pursuits.

If you are constantly giving, eventually you will have nothing left. Save some for yourself! Say no once in a while, let them wait, let them continue their communication circle jerks and opt-out.

You'll be surprised at how much better off you are without having to constantly engage.

Let's connect

If you liked this post sprinkle it with an upvote or resteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler
follow me


Buy & sell STEEMDonate LikeCoin For FreeEarn Interest On Crypto
blocktrades.jpgLikecoincryptocom.jpg
Sort:  

You’re a jerk ! Is a text I will generally finally respond to... just to say, thanks I will consider your opinion...

Idagf about social obligations, in person or online lol.. I often tell people I’m not bothered by having any future chit chats with to page me.. The befuddled look on their faces is priceless ! “Are you on Facebook”? No, but you can page me anytime bwhaha...

Granted I haven’t made many(any) new friends in years but again, I’m just fine with the circle of idiots that are still alive and know me, getting added to that list is not an easy task..

I have this theory that being yourself creates a filter that people who value it will be willing to put up with because they see the value in you

So far it seems to be working for me lol!

I’ll properly reply to this when I feel like it 😂

Oh hell, I feel like it now, I like your theory and surmise you’re postulation has credence.

It’s also been working well for me !

Posted using Partiko iOS

I also ignore most of the notifications I get. If I didn't, I'd go berserk trying to answer it all. 😁

Lol I can imagine I feel the same way! Most of it is useless information or attention seeking anyway

Enjoy your me time, if you ever spawn some minions that goes away completely lol.

I was going to wait to respond to this post for days but I would forget for sure lol. There’s too much instant gratification in the world. Some people shoot me messages and stuff but I forget to respond or don’t respond for a few days and they get pissed. Same thing tho, if it was important they would call!

Lol I would imagine minions make your time preferences change and make it even more precious!

I think that we are still coming to terms with having all this access and should learn to set rules around it! I see too many kids getting holds of screens and access to the internet when their minds are not ready for all this stimulation, adult minds aren’t even ready to process it so setting boundaries is a priority

I often take hours or a day to reply to messages unless it is something urgent that should be dealt with in a timely manner.

Posted using Partiko Android

That’s how it should be, we shouldn’t be a slave to a device or be on others beckoned call!

Congratulations @chekohler! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 55000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 60000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi, @chekohler!

You just got a 5.73% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Upvoted by @truthforce for having similarities to the #informationwar tag, posts like this anyone can add the tag #informationwar so we can more easily find and upvote them!

  • Our purpose is to encourage posts discussing Information War, Propaganda, Disinformation, and Liberty. We are a peaceful and non-violent movement that sees information as being held back by corrupt forces in the private sector and government. Our Mission.
  • Discord, website, youtube channel links here.

Ways you can help the @informationwar!

ooooh double whammy must be my lucky day

Hi @chekohler!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.191 which ranks you at #3200 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 101 contributions, your post is ranked at #38.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62856.64
ETH 2425.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67