Another horror manga by Junji Ito and his creepy illustrations.

in #comics7 years ago (edited)


I was gifted another book by Junji Ito! It was a surprise, I felt extremely spoiled, and a little terrified since I haven’t even finished reading Ito’s other manga. I wrote about that manga in my post Junji Ito’s “UZUMAKI” this creepy manga gave me nightmares! 

Before we crack into the book I wanted to share a video I just discovered titled “How Media Scares Us: The Work of Junji Ito” created by Super Eyepatch Wolf. I ENCOURAGE YOU to check it out. ☝🏼 Super fun to watch if you’ve got 23 mins to spare. If not then skip ahead to 10:57 in the video. I’ve learned so much more about Ito’s work from this video and I’d love to start collecting his short stories! 

I’m definitely pumped to read GYO after watching that video. 

The floating smell of death hangs over the island. What is it? A strange, legged fish appears on the scene... So begins Tadashi and Kaori’s spiral into the horror stench of the sea. Here is the CREEPIEST MASTERPIECE OF HORROR MANAGA EVER from the creator of UZUMAKI, Junji Ito. Hold your breath until all is revealed.

SOMETHING’S ROTTEN IN OKINAWA...

I actually didn’t read the description in the back and so I opened up the book to reveal...

Something that looked oddly familiar.

I saw a clip from this anime (which was inspired by the manga) maybe a month ago on social media. I’ve heard that this 2013 release was not as good as the original work.  

Here’s a look into Chapter 4: “Shark Attack

I’ve discovered after reading half of UZAMAKI that GYO would also have a similarily painful (I mean this in an emotional unsettling way) build up until the great reveal of terror at the end. I’m going to try to finish reading a few chapters now. I really hope that I don’t have strange dreams tonight!


Thanks for checking out this post!

Which media do you find scary for horror? 

Film, games, animation, or comics? 🦊

Sort:  

Upvoted. I love Junji Ito's work, that's a particularly creepy one.

I already have a fear of the ocean so I’m sure that will increase after I finish this manga!

It's scary but it's interesting hahaha, I think I will not see the fish in the same way from today.

The art is indeed very interesting.

Don't forget to update us. I'm more of a horror movies kind of a girl.

Will do. :) I wish I could watch more horror films but the music psychs me out.

music is a cheap trick, so are jump scares. Not all movies use them, especially not American once.

It really is a cheap trick. I always imagine something scarier than what ends up happening in the movie.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64187.97
ETH 3476.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49