Junji Ito’s “UZUMAKI” this creepy manga gave me nightmares!

in #comics7 years ago (edited)


I have a soft spot for horror. I love the stories within the genre but I’m too much of a wimp to watch the movies. I’m unable to control my fear and it’s really embarrassing!

SPIRALS... THIS TOWN IS CONTAMINATED WITH SPIRALS...

Kurouzu-cho, a small fogbound town in the coast of Japan, is cursed. According to Shuichi Saito, the withdrawn boyfriend of teenager Kirin Goshima, their town is haunted not by a person or being but a pattern: UZUMAKI, the spiral- the hypnotic secret shape of the world. This bizarre masterpiece of horror manga is now available in a single volume. FALL INTO A WHIRLPOOL OF TERROR

I remember glancing through a few pages of this manga in a comic book store in Las Vegas. It gave me the creeps and I chose not to buy it but a few months later it was gifted to me. I can’t believe that it found it’s way into my collection of manga.

I was actually really scared to read this at first but the art is too incredible!

There are 20 chapters. Some are better than others but they are all unique and original stories. 

Here’s a look into Chapter 1: “THE SPIRAL OBSESSION, PART 1” 

I had a nightmare after reading the seventh chapter which was a bizarre story about a boy who loved to jump out and scare people. He dies in a freak accident and comes back to life after his grave is disturbed. It took me awhile to notice that his image was printed on the spine of the book. 😱


Thanks for reading!

What’s the scariest manga/comic that you’ve read? 🦊

Sort:  

I have only seen Uzumaki the movie, I didn't even know it was based on a manga until sometime like the past year or so, and I already forgot until seeing this post! God that movie is so weird, not scary, just odd. That art looks amazing. Movie fit the tone as far as I can see, but damn, I need to read that source at some point.

I don’t think I can handle watching the movie because I agree with you, it’s weird. Thes gifs kinda freak me out. 😰 I admire the artwork. You’ll enjoy the manga, they’re always better than the movie adaptations.

I love horror movies. I never thoughts about reading horror comics or manga until now. I think reading is worse than watching. I'll consider reading this. Thank you for your post though.

Definitely I'll give it a try.

Awesome! Hope you like it!

OOH that looks really interesting! I'm going to have to look for it!

I've never been big into horror movies; when I was young I was a little sensitive to suspenseful things and I'd have nightmares, and as I got older and jaded I just found them too silly. But reading is different. My imagination is usually much better at scaring me than visuals. lol

Super interesting! You’ll like it.

I wish I didn’t scare so easily!! 😩 I’ve watched movies in broad daylight and I’m still a mess. It’s the music. I imagine the worse and I end up plugging my ears! Lol.

BAHAHA! That used to be me too. My family would sit down and watch "Unsolved Mysteries" when I was a kid and the whole show freaked me out, but the music was too much. I had to plug my ears and sing a song to myself to overpower it. (Yet I still watched it. lol)

Looking at this, I wonder if it has been inspired by Naruto. The name Uzumaki, the spiralling symbol, the red hair... This manga looks interesting, looking forward to going through it.

This was released in 1998-99 so maybe? Naruto is probably the only anime that I haven’t seen. It’s a very interesting read.

The art in it looks really cool :O
When I move and have more space for books I'll have to get some of these!

It is and YOU SHOULD!! O.O

OKAY I WILL!! (^^,)

new things to read!!!

YAY! Read it!!!


This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 2000 followers. Take our service to reach more People.

Pro Plan: just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61609.18
ETH 3390.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48