Steve Cronin's Weekly Comic Book Haul - #1

in #comics6 years ago

My Re-Introduction to Comic Books

Three months ago, I wrote a post here on Steemit entitled Does a Weekly Routine help keep you grounded? In it began my experiment to begin a weekly routine to improve my well-being, the activity I chose was to walk to my local comic book shop (an activity I haven't been involved with since the 1990s.)

After meeting some great folks in the comic community here on Steemit, I decided to keep posting about my comic-related adventures (even though they aren't the primary focus of this blog.) Thanks to @jackofcrows however, who credited me to inspire him to create a weekly blog post of his new comic acquisitions, his actual execution of my idea has - in turn - inspired me to do the same. Funny how that works. I'm always interested in learning about new media other people are consuming (be it comics, books, movies, whatever,) so I'm happy to get involved with more people doing this.

My Pickups This Week

I know today is not Wednesday, however, I'm recovering from an apicoectomy and got to the store a day late :)

Star Wars #52

I'm a huge Star Wars fan and have been following this specific series since only #50. Star Wars has been my re-entry point into comics (knowing next to nothing about any of the current non-Star Wars comic series running) and I've loved reading extra canon bits in that universe so far.

I also read the Poe Dameron comics (currently taking place post-The Last Jedi film) however my local shop is sold out of the latest issue, #30 (been following that since #25.)

The Magic Order #3

Man, these guys sell out fast! This issue released yesterday and I picked up the last available copy. Issue #1 was sold out its first day before I even got to the store! (I ordered that one on Amazon.) I detail more about why I love this series so far in my Steemit post, Netflix's New Comic Book "The Magic Order" Is AWESOME.

Batman #52-53

I started this series reading issue #49, right before "The Wedding," and have found it pretty interesting. I'm not a huge Batman fan, so we'll see how long this series keeps my interest. As a kid, I really enjoyed the KnightFall, KnightQuest, & Knight'sEnd series. I tried, and failed, to grab single issues of every comic :D

Good thing this isn't the Dune universe.

Catwoman #2

I picked up the first issue in this series as the cover indicated it would branch off from the story in Batman #50. The first issue was okay, like with Batman, we'll see how long this series grabs my attention.

Rick & Morty #40

I saw this  spontaneously and decided to pick it up and give this series a try for the first time. Why not? I definitely enjoy the TV show! If these comics are just as wild and hilarious, I might keep reading 'em.

That's it for this week!

If you make weekly comic book posts about what you're reading, please link them to me in the comments below! I'd love to be introduced to new stories :)

Sort:  

I'm doing something similar to rekindle the brain. I got back into when I found Dark Metal by Snyder and company. Good stuff!

I have not heard of this, will have to check it out :)

Yeah let me know what you think. I read the whole series while on vacation....couldn't stop reading it.

Congratulations @stevecronin! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I'm still eyeing those Star Wars books. I loved the Dark Horse stuff from the 90s...........

Yeahhhh Star Wars comics are awesome. I have mixed feelings about Marvel's new releases, there's a lot of amazing stuff (like the current Darth Vader comics) and a lot of meh. Kind of like the Star Wars novels!

I haven't read any of the new novels either.......I've heard Aftermath was full of literal Pew Pews!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63209.62
ETH 2570.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76