Toy Hunting: Pros and Cons (THANOS MARVEL LEGEND)

in #comics6 years ago (edited)

Today was the first time I really went toy hunting again since finding my beloved Cable. I mean I check stuff every now and then... and hide the figures I want to buy later. Like the X-force Deadpool I got recently... and also the Moon Knight figure that is hidden in a Walmart currently haha.

As I was making my rounds hitting up about 7 different stores today looking for some figures, I was thinking about the parts that suck when Toy Hunting (A usually most joyous activity). As I was thinking of all the lame things... a really cool thing happened... so if you are thinking of starting... here are the pros and cons!

Con's


  • Going to 5 different stores and finding nothing but old/common figures
  • Finding a decent figure... but its damaged
  • Walking out of the store with nothing, and people think you are stealing
  • Finding a great figure, but you have no money...
  • Seeing that a store marked up the ONE figure you want
  • Knowing that a scalper combed through the good stuff

Pro's


  • When you DO find what you have been searching for
  • Finding an old GOOD figure on clearance

But the best thing ever that I experienced today... Is walking in the aisle as they are stocking NEW PRODUCT for the first time in 2 months!!! Walking in and seeing 5 of these bad boys!

thanos

This figure has been so uncommon that I have not seen a single one since it entered stores about 2 months ago. This particular Thanos can be anywhere from $35-60 on Ebay and finding it at retail was sweet. I honestly had to resist the urge to buy them all and scalp them. My morals, and loathing for scalpers prevented me from doing it... I did buy one for my friend though. I am only making him pay me back... no upcharge ;)

I really like the box art on the side

The Collection


Sort:  

nice find!

I am up in the air on "scalpers" because while they do operate without honor in the scope of hunting for toys, they do have a benefit in the grand scheme of things in this sense- at least if a scalper has it...it won't be damaged, it is safe from random knuckle dragging shoppers. and, it is able to be found (for a price).

You think of all the toys, comics ect that were damaged, thrown away, ect before the age of scalpers and it makes you wonder...how many copies of Fantastic Four no.1 would still be around in good condition. Probably a hell of lot more than exist now! and with the supply being greater, it would be possible for someone to own a copy without having to sell their house (take out a third mortgage maybe). So in the short term they affect the market adversely for the buyer...but in the long run, on high end items, they're culling of collectables actually keeps the price down a bit.

This is a fair point. I may have to rethink my position and talk this over with a friend lol

Damn homie got yourself a sweet ass collection going on... love when they go out of the way to art up the packing, so it ends up taking up a ton of space in my closet cause I just can't recycle that sweet art hahaha

You got a 97.66% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @saywha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55515.17
ETH 2501.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30