Speculating on Comics on Halloween 10-31-2018

in #comics6 years ago


Image Source

Last week, I did ok. I managed the “Alicia Silverstone” Batgirl 27, Books of Magic #1, Frison’s Wonder Woman 57 and even * Spider-Gwen #1 * Artgerm. Batgirl is going for an all-in price of $11-$20 USD already on Ebay. Wonder Woman is going between $11-$15 USD. The Artgerm is already selling at $20 USD; Books of Magic? That one has been a dud (it was still a decent read, however).

This week’s comic book Wednesday is Halloween. I’m looking forward to getting a couple of these tomorrow morning for my Halloween night read.

Must Haves

Justice League Drowned Earth Drowned Earth Variant #1


Image Source

Aquaman looks a bit too close to the movie version, but I still love the colors on this cover. Cho continues to do ok on Ebay too

Justice League Dark & Wonder Woman Witching Hour #1 Ricardo Federici Variant


Image Source

Federici’s work is amazing; his last # Justice League Dark / Wonder Woman # issue is going anywhere from an all in price of $8 - $15 USD on Ebay. Speculation aside, I love this cover and hope I can find it Wednesday morning.

Hex Wives #1 Jenny Frison Variant


Image Source

This is a new series regarding an all powerful coven of witches that has apparently been at war with men since the beginning of time. Something happened to this clan in the past; one witch wakes up, Stepford Wives style in the suburbs, and begins to piece the past together. Frison’s work has been doing very well on Ebay, and I think this concept screams of a Netflix or CW series down the road.

Nice to Haves

Stranger Things #2 Greg Ruth Variant


Image Source

I haven’t kept up with the comics, but I do enjoy the show. The cover art is pretty cool on this issue.

Green Lantern Huckleberry Hound Special Yasmine Putri Variant


Image Source

Can’t say I’ve been keeping up with these mashups with DC, but this one sold out fairly quickly online. Why not? Putri’s work has been a hit, and her covers with Red Hood have a nice Ebay following.

Ice Cream Man #8 Vanesa Del Ray Variant


Image Source

Another one that sold out almost instantly online; I’ll pick this one up if it is at my shop Wednesday morning. A perfect creepy cover for Halloween.

Avengers Halloween Special Zaffino Variant


Image Source

I’m not sure where this book is going, but I love Frankenstein’s monster. If that cover above doesn’t imply a similar situation to Captain America, I don’t know what does.

X-Men Black Emma Frost Larroca Variant


Image Source

Another one that sold out quickly online. The demand is there for this issue. Plus there is talk of a key appearance or storyline in Marvel beginning here.

Books I Want to Read

Batman Secret Files Foil Cover


Image Source

Well, it is Batman after all! Rumor has it there is some type of new kryptonite as well.

Heroes in Crisis 2


Image Source

I feel like Tom King is really going to get disturbing with this series. I’d pick up the variant, but I hate seeing Bane breaking Batman’s back. I can’t stand it. I'll just get the regular cover and be done with it.

Wytches Bag Egg Halloween Special


Image Source

Have I mentioned I am a big Scott Snyder fan? This one looks good for a nice read Halloween night (after the JLD/WW reread, of course!)

So my game plan Wednesday morning;

  • Run to find Hex Wives variant first
  • Then look for the Federici variant
  • The look for the Ice Cream variant
  • Then Stranger Things
  • Then X-Men

Whew, then get everything else I know will be in stock. The first three above I’m thinking I’ll have a chance at ⅓ to find. I might also pick up the Spider Vault issue #1 just for my own curiosity; Daredevil might need to be picked up too, only if I can get my hands on the last issue. There is talk of some type of medieval villain appearing at this point.

That's it for me; again, I'm going with age old advice to concentrate on key figures and beautiful artwork. As always, please point me in another direction too; my LCS is heaving with the big hitters, so the indies are always difficult to come by. Thanks again for checking this out.

Sort:  

Let It Go.

My favorite out of these would be Emma Frost which reminds me of Emma Swan from Once Upon A Time (OUT), a television series for 7 seasons on ABC of Disney which also bought like Marvel and/or DC Comics and Star Wars.

Civil War? Divide & Soros Conquer?

New comic on war between men & women? Sounds familiar. Upvoted. I'm Oatmeal.

hey thanks for stopping by! I thought Emma Frost was too close to Killer Frost in DC, but I'm not up on my Marvel or X-Men.

I'm personally digging the Fedirici covers quite a bit too; my shop opens at 11 am tomorrow, so hoping to be the first in to get my hands on that one. Good to meet you Oatmeal!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51