Speculating on Comic Books for 03.19.2019

in #comics6 years ago


Image Source

Not much love again last week for me. There was a cool looking Doctor Fate shattered glass cover for number 1 of a recent volume that made the CBSI top ten list, but I don’t own that. I also didn’t have a chance at that Martin Squirrel Girl last week, which is selling for @ $70 USD. At least I managed to pick up a Teen Titans 12 a few months ago for $50 USD. That one might be a keeper. Some think half a grand down the road, but I find that doubtful.

Picks for Flips

Captain Marvel 3 Mack Variant 1:25


Image Source

It’s actually a very nice looking cover; I like the water color feel to it. I’d grab it if I could, but my store won’t have it. I hope you can; currently going for +$32 USD resale.

Immortal Hulk 15 Ross Variant


Image Source

Dang, grab this one if you can! There is already one sale at $19 USD for a $3.99 cover price book. I’m picking one up for the read and long term collection, but if you feel inclined, flip it.

Dark Red 1 A and B Covers


Image Source


Image Source

More vampires, more profit. The A cover is selling in the +$10 USD range; the variant is >$20 USD.

Items for the Long Term Collection

Batman 67 Weeks and Johnson Variant


Image Source

I’m not sure what is going on with this issue; cover A sold out within 24 hours online, only to see it later reappear in stock, only later to see the Johnson cover sell out immediately. Very odd; gremlins in the machine perhaps?

Either way, it’s Batman and King is back on to continue the drudgery that is whatever it is that he’s writing of late. I hate to be pessimistic, but what is going on with Penguin and the Thomas Wayne Batman? That was like 7 issues ago…hurry back before we all forget! That Johnson cover above, however, is stunning. That is a keeper if you are Batman fan...I'm grabbing 2 copies; one for me and one for my brother.

Immortal Hulk 15 Ross Covers A and B


Image Source

Hell yeah, the Hulk is back. Is that Flash Gordon in the Freudian/Jungian hot seat? Or someone else? Either way, both covers are great, and the story is wonderful. Is it just me, or is the Hulk consistently morphing more and more into Boris Karloff’s monster? Add to that some serious psychoanalysis that is the Hulk confronting, what I think, is the metaphor for his ID of late, and it would make the mystic/esotercist very, very happy.

Marvels Spider Man City at War 1 Crain Cover A


Image Source

I guess this is yet another reboot set in the video game universe. I haven’t played the game, but have heard good things. I do like this Crain cover a lot however. Also, I'm willing to give this new series in the new Universe a go.

Venom 12 Stegmen Variant


Image Source

What a classic looking cover; it reminds of my middle school days, wishing I’d never given away ASM 300 to a friend. Sigh Oh and this issue sees Cates possibly returning to that enemy of illumination, Creation, and the manifestation of reality: Knull.

Conspiracy 3 Goh Variant


Image Source

I see an Ankh, a pentagram, and a 90+90 = 180 square and compass. Hmm…those honestly aren’t very scary symbols. Yet social media is; where is this one going to go, and will secrets be revealed regarding the illuminati? Last issue mentioned chemtrails and the true meaning of the Denver airport. Let’s see where this one goes. Maybe we'll get a glimpse of the simulation in this one....

Other Items of Interest

Invisible Kingdom 1


Image Source

I haven’t bought a Dark Horse for some time, but this one sounds interesting. The pretense? A conspiracy between society’s major religion and the mega-corporations that control society. Huh…sounds like that podcast I just listened to regarding the Roman Empire’s construction of Christianity to be used as a social engineering tool. Blasphemy? Probably, but its fun, right? Ill probably go ahead and pick this one up (and that book on the Roman Empire and the social construct that is Christ too). No wonder that portrait of Jesus I got in grade school from Sunday School surprisingly looks like Serapis. Serapis, right anyone?

Army of Darkness / Bubba Ho-Tep 2 Hack Virgin Variant


Image Source

I love Evil Dead, I love Bubba Ho Tep, and I really love Bruce Campbell. My cult movie hero, bar none. I'm on the fence with this one...it's a 1:25 virgin, I believe, and going for $10 USD right now. Thinking...thinking...thinking...I'll let you know soon if I broke out the secret credit card for this one.

That's it for this week; thanks as always for reading, and drop a line if I missed something. Good luck tomorrow everyone, and grab those ratios at cover price if you are fortunate too.

Sort:  

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

hey, thanks again!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

thanks so much - I'm happy people are still reading Steem posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75