Checking in on Batgirl for July 2019

in #comics5 years ago


Image Source

The one or two of you that may have followed my writings over the past few years realize I’m all over the place. We’ve looked at Lunar Waves, an alleged Soviet scientist and his Ebrov, esoteric symbolism in commercials and films, William Shears, and a host of other speculative pieces on the occult. Being the accountant I occasionally have to be, I do like writing about objective data from time to time. Hence the occasional daily fantasy sports articles, charts of cryptocurrencies, and my beloved hobby of comic book collecting.

You know how it goes : I can’t tell if you Bitcoin will be worth 7 figures in 5 years, let alone when Litecoin breaks the 1,000 USD mark, or even if the Pleroma is a real thing… but I can tell you how much a Harley Quinn 57 variant is. Sometimes, that feels good…almost like I have just a little bit of a handle on the chaos that is life.


Image Source

All that said, today I’d like to share some price data on my daughter’s work-in-progress Batgirl collection. I love Batgirl. I can’t wait to go to the new movie with my daughter in a few years. And honestly, I want to have a few pieces that are artistic and worth a little bit of money for her so that she can hold them long term, long after I’ve left this world. So I’d like to give any other Batgirl fans, or comic book fans in general, out there a “state of the union” in regards to Batgirl issues out there on the secondary market, and current prices. The methodology I used includes:

  • List current resale values in USD*
  • Use a weighted average of the past 5 sales on eBay (most weight on most recent sale)
  • Use listings with VF/NM categorizations
    ** All comics are in “raw condition”
    ** No special variables (as in signed copies, etc.)

I will then rank each issue in terms of resale value (high to low) for review. Are you excited? I am. My hope is to use this to find steals on eBay to get additional copies for her. Let’s start with the “Middleton Collection.”

The Middleton Collection


Image Source

This is the artist that brought me back to purchasing Batgirls. I love most of Joshua Middleton’s work, and I have most of his Batgirls in my “daughter’s collection” Let’s take a look.

middletonb.jpg

No surprise this is number one on the list:


Image Source

I’m surprised this one is 2nd :


Image Source

And finally the third would be :


Image Source

The bottom three currently are:


Image Source


Image Source


Image Source

Very nice; I don’t have issues 17 or 22 yet, but now I know what to look out for on eBay in terms of value.

The Artgerm Collection


Image Source

Another favorite in the industry and hobby…Artgerm. Using the same methodology, we can see the following:

artgermb.jpg

No surprise again, that number one is this :


Image Source

Second on the list would be this:


Image Source

And third on the list would be this:


Image Source

I own none of these yet, so I have some work to do!

The last one on the list would be the only one I actually own is volume 5, issues 31.


Image Source

One More Chart

This is the same data plotted together, with the recent Putri and Chew variants attached.

consolidatedb.jpg

I’ll add more on next month’s update as I continue to work on this Batgirl collection (Adam Hughes, you are next). Please let me know what you think, and if you are willing to give me any of these issues for free (just kidding!). I plan on doing more of these types of objective analyses going forward with my favorite comic characters and artists. Thanks as always for reading! Please let me know what you think, and whether this type of article is of any value.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

thanks so much! I'm happy folks enjoyed the article (and Batgirl)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62427.05
ETH 2464.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65