You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: In The Midst of Things | Comic Update #10

in #comics6 years ago

The colored pages look amazing! I like how you used the same neutral color for things that are out-of-focus, like the bookcase & all its contents. This makes the gas-light more intense, and naturally draws the eye to the more vibrant colors, as the red dress.

I have to say that I did not notice that the drowning girl is the same as the one at the table, not before I read your post. It is difficult to compare the dresses in those panels, and the drowning girl's hair seems blond to me; but the effect of hair floating in water is wonderful and I do not know if it is possible to do it properly with dark hair in dark waters.

I am very excited to see your comic in color!

Sort:  

I agree about the drowning girl, her dress and hair don't read as dark, I actually thought it was the other girl in the light dress. For the hair I would just making it dark like the background and just defining it's shape with the minimum amount of highlights that you can get away way. You could probably do the same for the dress, go dark and just define the shape with rim lighting and highlights. Though a more striking solution might be to simply make it red, but you'd probably have to punch up the contrast a little by making the blacks a little darker and/or the red of the dress a little more vivid in general, for that to work, IMHO.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59099.74
ETH 2639.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49