Sort:  

I do a loose script, breaking down action on each page, dialogue notes and such. But it stays pretty flexible through the layouts as I realize the need for more or less space at certain sequences, and do a lot of my dialogue brainstorming during the time spent on visuals. I may even shuffle the order of pages around. With digital work it’s alot easier to approach it like your filming footage and then putting it together in the editing room later!

Since I'm strictly a writer, that level of looseness with a script boggles me a little bit- especially since I'm pretty detail heavy in my scripts. (Not anywhere near Alan Moore, of course, but more than a lot of the sample scripts I've seen out there.)

Yeah, the “one man band” artist/writer combo really plays into the loose nature of the script. Rather than “writer me” making a tight script that “artist me” then realizes needs more or less panels on a page, really wants to stretch out an emotional scene, realizes fitting that much dialogue is nearly unworkable, etc... the two can work more in tandem. It’s also a bit of a timesaver as the hours spent working on the visuals are often when I come up with the best dialogue, as the characters act out the scene in front of me!

That makes a lot of sense! I'm pretty heavy on the description and such as a writer- some of my panels approach Alan Moore-length descriptions, but those are few and far between. If I were drawing too, those long descriptions would be totally unnecessary. (My artist is a good sport for putting up with me.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68564.31
ETH 3859.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65