What Happens In The Dark | A Glimpse At The Story

in #comics7 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-01-03 at 11.05.58 PM.png

You've seen the concept art, you've read about the historical context, and you've seen the steps it took to bring the pages of What Happens In The Dark to life. For my last post on the matter, I'll share several pages from the story with you nice people of Steemit.

I'll share some final thoughts before we get on to the pages; during my four years at art school, I was required on many occasions to come up with my own stories for projects. Some cartoonists are simply in it for the drawing aspect and hate coming up stories but luckily for me, storytelling was always one of my passions. And for the longest time, I had a long backlog of story ideas that I had concocted in high school but never executed because I felt I did not have the skills to do so. This ended up working in my favor; every time I needed a story idea for a project, I went through the file cabinets in mind, pulled out an old idea, brushed off the cobwebs, and used it for said project.

However, my reserve started to run dry Junior and Senior year... but as I've mentioned in previous posts, I had other things to inspire me. History, being probably the most prominent.

This project, my final for my senior year, took a lot of planning and mulling over potential ideas. The college year, broken up into two semesters, left me the first to craft an idea for my final portfolio project. I was also taking a class during that semester that was probably the best class I could've taken for the purposes of coming up with a solid idea; it was called Heros, Villians, & Anti-Heros...or something along those lines... We read a lot of gothic novels and the class really brought me to question what made a compelling story and equally interesting characters. It was in that class that I did most of my brainstorming for this project.

So the stars and planets seem to align. We had my constant podcast listening habits, providing my countless urban legends & folklore to be pumped into my subconscious. Add a dash of an inspirational teacher and a class that exposed me to a butt-ton on gothic novels for added inspiration. Mix in a little added pressure of not having a story idea until the last possible minute (which always seems to get my creative juices flowing). Preheat the oven to 375º, bake for 20 minutes, and you got yourself a story.

Okay, now that I've blathered on long enough, on to the pages! Just a heads up, after the first three pictures below the rest are randomly chosen and are not in any particular order. Enjoy :)

What_Happens_in_the_Dark_1.jpg

What_Happens_in_the_Dark_2.jpg

What_Happens_in_the_Dark_3.jpg

What_Happens_in_the_Dark_7.jpg

What_Happens_in_the_Dark_8.jpg

What_Happens_in_the_Dark_16.jpg

What_Happens_in_the_Dark_21.jpg

You can read the whole story by clicking this lovely link and if you feel so inclined you can purchase my horror anthology comic here, which includes this and two other stories.




Thanks for Reading!

If you'd like to read about the other posts I made about my horror anthology you can check them out here:

Under The Bed
The Graveyard Shift
Creating Characters
The Story Behind The Story
The Process

If you'd like to keep up with more of my work you can check me out at the following:

Instagram: @la.fumettista
Tumblr: http://la-fumettista.tumblr.com/tagged/art
Twitter: @TheresaChiechi
Website: https://www.theresachiechi.com/

Sort:  

I really adore your art style! So nice you were able to get into art school. My parents weren't really supportive about drawing :D

Thank you! Yeah, I was really lucky. I come from a family of artists so they kinda had to support me.

I love that shot under the water in the bath tub. Great job with the lighting and her hair!

Also nice that now I get to hear a little bit more about your internal process!

Thanks! That was a hard panel to do.

Nice work! I did a similar project for my senior exhibition (though I was required to find "clients" and use other people's stories). Great illustration work, I'll be following to see more of your art. Keep it up!

Thanks! I followed you back :)

Thank you, I'm honored!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63235.53
ETH 2558.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63