Spooky Comic #3 | Creating A Character

in #art7 years ago

Screen Shot 2017-12-22 at 9.32.14 PM.png

What Happens In The Dark

I have one more story featured in my horror anthology to share with you, good people of Steemit. This plot revolves around actual historical events in the late 1800s when graverobbing became very popular due to the hospitals' needs for cadavers to study. But this last tale is quite involved and is a story that I was very passionate about so I've decided to break this down into a couple of posts. For this particular post, I'm going to be focusing on the character development and sketches I worked on before I got into the nitty-gritty of actually bringing my comic to life.

The Main Character

I think most artists can attest to the power of having reference photos. Drawings generally look stronger when the artist has an example to look back to. This extends to character design as well, at least for me. Whenever I am trying to come on with a character design I try to find as many photos of I can of what the character looks like in my head. I find this also helps me keep designs looking more consistent and "on model" from panel to panel. Thanks to the plethora of photos easily found on Google, building your own library of references pics has never been easier.

The story took place in the late 1800s so naturally, I was looking for a lot of good references for the fashion and hairstyles of the time.

dress.jpg

hair2.jpg
Photo Credit:
Vintagious

Dresses.jpg

dresses2.jpg

After the research stage, I finally started sketching. Had I not packed away my sketchbook, I would have more photos to share but you'll just have to take my word that I drew the main character's, Edith, head over and over and OVER again until I felt I got her look just right. Then I started doing sketches of her in various poses which ultimately lead to a character turnaround.

Char_Sketch_2.jpg

Screen Shot 2017-12-22 at 9.52.26 PM.png

If you have the time to do so, I highly recommend creating character turnarounds for your main characters. It's very helpful to have a guide of what your character looks like from the various angles you'll probably be drawing them in throughout your story.

Screen Shot 2017-12-22 at 9.58.22 PM.png
I ended up simplifying her dress even more in final designs

The Rest of The Cast

I won't bore you by going through every character design process since I took the same steps each time:

  1. Find good references photos
  2. Sketch your little heart out until you're satisfied with results
  3. Draw said character in different poses & create a character turnaround

Just follow those three simple steps and you'll have your characters looking spiffy in no time!

Char_Sketch_1.jpg

Various Victorian Era characters including some main characters.

Screen Shot 2017-12-22 at 12.48.52 AM.png

Edith and another character, Edward

Stay Tuned for More!

That's all for now; stay tuned for more posts about the development of this story and what went into making it. You can read my other two posts about my horror anthology here and here if you feel so inclined.




If you'd like to keep up with more of my work you can check me out at the following:

Instagram: @la.fumettista
Tumblr: http://la-fumettista.tumblr.com/tagged/art
Twitter: @TheresaChiechi
Website: https://www.theresachiechi.com/

Sort:  

I love your characters. I also love vintage fashion, so like that you are using the historical context of fashion as part of your creation.

Thank you! And yeah I always try to be as historically accurate as I can. I end up putting in a ridiculous amount of time researching before I start projects and make any character designs.

It really shows and I love research anyway so it must be a fun part of the process, right?

I really like the ink character sketches.

Nice stuff! Thanks for walking us through your process. As an artist, I love seeing the walkthrough of other illustrators! :D

Thanks for reading! I've always been pretty bad at talking about my art so my Steemit is kind of my resolution to better at explaining my process. Love your art style, by the way. Just checked out your work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57941.45
ETH 2579.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39