The People of Key West // Drawn To Key West

in #comics6 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-06-28 at 4.03.58 PM.png

When I first came up with the idea for Drawn To Key West, having never done any journalistic work before, I really had no idea what the structure of the comic was going to look like. Comics-journalism could follow a traditional narrative, taking the reader from point A to point B like in Persepolis. Or it could simply be a collection of meandering thoughts and experiences that help drive the overall thesis of the story, like with Flying Couch. I knew I wanted to collect the local's stories, with a heavy emphasis placed on the lives of the street performers, but I didn't really know how I was going to present the information.

Luckily, after my trip to Key West and after having interviewed some people, I had enough information to work with to get a sense of what I wanted the comic to look like.

It came to me, as most of my ideas do, as I was drifting off to sleep. I was on the airplane back to New York and snapped awake, grabbing my sketchbook and doodling away in the dark. I won't share those thumbnails with you because they are truly undecipherable to anyone other than me. But when I got home, I was able to draw some more readible thumbnails:

IMG_6404.jpg

I laid out the framework for the intro to the comic, which ends with the spread of the map of Mallory Square. My plan is to work on these pages so when I approach other people, street performers, hopefully, the local museums and newspaper, I'll have artwork and a solid concept to show them.

So this first spread I'm working on takes you for a little history ride, featuring all the people who have inhabited or visited Key West up until present day. Key West has been home to a lot of different people and has really transformed throughout the years. According to my online research: it was first inhabited by the Calusa tribe, then the Spanish conquistadors came in (specifically Ponce de León), then it became territory for the US. Key West served as a naval base from the Union during the civil war and has continued to hold U.S. military bases. It was a favorite vacation spot for a couple of presidents, most notably Harry S. Truman. Key West has been known as a creative haven for writers like Ernest Hemmingway and Tenessee Williams as well as serving as inspiration for some of Jimmy Buffet's songs. Key West is also notable for being extremely open to the LGBTQA+ community, electing it's first openly gay mayor in the 80s. Nowadays, during it's peak seasons, the island is always bustling with tourists.

The Process


Page_2.jpg

Wow, such art. Very draw.

Page_2b.jpg

Page_2c.jpg

I definitely spent more time on the overall drawing for this page than I did for the next page. This picture featured a lot of things I wanted to make sure were solid before heading on to the inking stage. I wanted to make sure I accurately represented the indigenous people of Key West and that good ol' Ernest Hemmingway and Jimmy Buffet resembled their actual selves enough. Let's go with, this is the more historically accurate page.

Page_3.jpg

Page_3b.jpg

This page is more comprised of generic tourists that can look like whatever the heck I want them to look like so I left the pencils a lot looser. I've never been one to fear winging things in the inking stage.

Screen Shot 2018-06-28 at 4.03.35 PM.png

This is what they look like side-by-side.

Hope you enjoyed this journey, stay tuned for more updates! As always...
End_Card.png



If you'd like to keep up with more of my work you can check me out at the following:

Instagram: @la.fumettista
Tumblr: http://la-fumettista.tumblr.com/tagged/art
Twitter: @TheresaChiechi
Website: https://www.theresachiechi.com/

Sort:  

Really amazing, Theresa <3 Your composition and how you design your pieces are so natural and they makes the eyes flow easily on the elements that you are presenting <3

The figures' body languages are so lovely and very interesting.... * ___ * all of their activities are very well captured <3

Really looking forward to see this inked and coloured and finished <3 <3 <3

Awwww, thank you :') That means a lot!

Hi, congratz, you are now listed on the Steemians directory. You can read more about this new initiative here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@anonyvoter/new-selections-of-june-29-2018.
If you like this project it would be great if you could resteem the post to make more people aware of it.
If you don’t want to be listed just leave me a comment and I will delete your profile from the website. As I just added you, your profile will stay visible on the homepage of the directory (https://www.steemiandir.com/) at least until my next update post on steemit.
Thank you very much for reading and I’m looking forward to your feedback!
PS: I’m NOT a bot so… I’m really looking forward to some feedback 😊

It amuses me that the finished picture which is great, started from some basic blobs and circles :).

Right? It's so fun keeping track of the process.

That's you in the bottom corner right? :)

Yup! But I redraw myself like twenty thousand times so it currently does not look like that version haha

Well, a changing self portrait certainly is your prerogative :D

Congratulations @la-fumettista! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Congratulations! this post got an upvote by @steemrepo and was manually picked by the curator @veryspider to be added on STEEM REPOSITORY, simply comment "YES" and we upload it on STEEM REPO Website.
Want to know more about the Steem Repo project? Contact us on Discord

@la-fumettista this is a nice post..
If you dont mind u may check my blog for nice art works @Rf-abol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82