Artwork Makeover

in #comics6 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-03-19 at 11.42.00 PM.png

I guess you could say this post is half inspired by the 2012vs2018 hashtag going around. The other half is not having any new personal work to share at the moment. I have a new comic I'm doing for work but I only have thumbnails for that right now, nothing worth sharing just yet. And @drwatson has got y'all covered on the Ithaqa updates. So I'm left to going through some old artwork.

So this piece started out as a watercolor illustration; about two summers ago I was convinced I was going to make watercoloring my b**** so I tried to paint something every week. Some pieces came out great, others okay, and the rest...not so great. This particular piece, I liked the idea and the execution wasn't the worst thing I've ever made but I definitely wasn't satisfied with it. So skip ahead to my senior year of college when I decided to make digital painting my b****. I wouldn't say that I completely succeeded with that either but I was definitely a lot happier with the results when I went to revisit that same idea.

Untitled-1.jpg

I think the composition is a lot better; when I first painted the picture, the paper I was working on was very small so everything ended up getting very cramped. I also like the colors a lot better the second time around.

fairy love.jpg

Bonus points to anyone who can pick out the glaring mistake I made in the newer version...

And what the heck, let's throw in a thing I actually did in 2012. Here is a comic I did at a pre-college class I took at SVA.

Behold it in all it's glory:

Sort:  

She's got two left feet.

I love it,! the girl is very beautiful, natural beauty, and colors and everything! I really love :D :D :D

firma 8.jpg

Oh no I don't see any mistake at all :O it looks good to me.
The comic bonus was great, maybe you should dig some other comics you've done in the past

I definitely should, I have all of my old comics from middle school and high school in a box somewhere

I'd love to see those comics :D!

When I saw the preview I thought ok, this is nice. When I saw the whole picture I was like aaaah such a nice idea, I love the nymph! And no bonus points for me..

Thanks! And she'es got two left feet XD

I actually think both are awesome @la-fumettista. The watercolor reminds me more of a children's book illustration while the new one has more of a cinematography vibe. Your drawing skills are what makes you good in any medium ;) I don't see any mistake either :s

Thank you! Yeah I even had that thought when I was writing this post, the first one definitely has a children's book vibe. It's always fun experimenting with different mediums.

These are both great. I agree with you about the color scheme in the second one. Very nice. Does the mistake involve her hair color? It looks a bit she has part of her head shaved, but I don't think that's a mistake anymore, people do that on purpose :). Really nice work, I'll be following for more

Haha! No, it's her foot. It's on the wrong way XD

Agh. Now I see. Well I kind of like the whole side shave thing anyway ;)

The book doesn’t say, ‘The Fairy’ anymore!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60479.65
ETH 2906.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43