The unboxing of the Ithaca artefact

in #comics5 years ago (edited)

The cold winds of autumn has swept the streets of this cold and unfriendly northern city for a week now. I came to Europe to study the strange phenomenons that has recently stirred the public into anxiety: the melting ice, the sudden occurrence of gypsy musicians in the Scandinavian region, the rumours of frightful sightings in the outer provinces of Norway. And here I met love: a little blond woman with whom I now have small white haired children.

An hour ago I returned from a long stroll through the desolate streets to my humble flat; longing for a chair and a warm cup of tea. I had almost passed the mailbox that is placed just when you enter the five storey staircase when I realised that I had not opened it today to see if any letters had arrived. Not that letters arrive very often. The Northerners are obsessed with this strange system where mail is sent with electricity to a box in their living room. But I looked into the mailbox none the less, and there, between bill and letters from the bank, was a large package sent from an address in the United States of America; the country, my country! that I have neglected to visit for so long.

The box, or should I say large and soft envelope, was a surprise. I did not in any way expect a package this size, and I had no idea who had sent it. Excited i ran up the stairs; all the way up to the top floor; to my humble home. It was quiet––everyone was asleep. I took a large knife, and with shaking hands I opened the mysterious shipment.

Ithaca.jpg

... And then I realised it was the Ithaca artefact that I had ordered from doctor @drwatson. I will now have to stay up all night to try to understand the meaning of this strange manuscript. It is as if a humming sounds has filled my living room, but as soon as I look at the scripture of the ancient book I experience a strange calm...

Sort:  

This may be my favorite steemit post I have EVER read

Written in a hurry last night (I just had to go through the bad spelling) - glad it could reach favourite status! It looks great by the way. Love the frontpage.

I gotta shag this bad boy. I’ll be sending some moolah this weekend @drwatson. Tell me how much!!!

In the wet and smelly street of this old city I have seen the act you describe done by sailors and petty criminals. The bad little boys are everywhere here on the brink of civilisation, offering their services for easy money as they are to lazy and depraved to do proper work. I would never have imagined a respectable member of our Steemian Society to openly admit such foul desires! But as your rep is higher than mine I will not dare speak against it.

I have been informed that the reading of Baudelaire and Huysmans can lead to such abhorrent practises.

"May heaven forgive the folly and morbidity which led us both to so monstrous a fate! Wearied with the commonplaces of a prosaic world, where even the joys of romance and adventure soon grow stale, St. John and I had followed enthusiastically every aesthetic and intellectual movement which promised respite from our devastating ennui. The enigmas of the Symbolists and the ecstasies of the pre-Raphaelites all were ours in their time, but each new mood was drained too soon of its diverting novelty and appeal. Only the sombre philosophy of the Decadents could hold us, and this we found potent only by increasing gradually the depth and diabolism of our penetrations. Baudelaire and Huysmans were soon exhausted of thrills, till finally there remained for us only the more direct stimuli of unnatural personal experiences and adventures. It was this frightful emotional need which led us eventually to that detestable course which even in my present fear I mention with shame and timidity—that hideous extremity of human outrage, the abhorred practice of grave-robbing."

(Found in this worthy publication)

Enjoy it! Swedish post office tells me pay up import fees or they'll keep a similar faintly glowing package for themselves. Fools I say.

I have been told that the civil servants of the Swedes are very strict. They are always on the lookout for the Arab tobacco, the white powder from Russia, and for any object of ancient lore that is suspected of corrupting their utopian ideology of Folkhemmet! What they do not understand is that we only crave more knowledge of the deep mysteries!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!! Keep up with the dorky content for more love!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56