You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Artist With Writer's Block

in #comics7 years ago (edited)

Last summer I was planning and planning and planning - I was not even close to making page 1 - and then one of the thousands of guest that always are in my flat threw away all the breakdowns...

Then I posted three pages on my other social network Diaspora, of a comic that I had not really thought to continue... read here: https://steemit.com/comics/@katharsisdrill/but-8-month-earlier

Now I am at page 34 in a long and complicated story.

Sometimes planning is your worst enemy.

EDIT: I reshared - Your drawings are really good!

Sort:  

it probably is. it's one of those things where i'm waiting until i become a better artist, instead of doing the one thing that will make me better. hahaha, and i'll check that out! (also, HOW DARE SOMEONE THROW AWAY YOUR WORK???)

I try to keep it loose, so a lot of the real decisions happens in a sketching and inking mixture. So my page-breakdowns is very much about timing and dialogue. That means that they tend to look like something that is not even doodles - and my family in law are very tidy people that insist on helping out when visiting. It is they I suspect!

I am a perfectionist myself and I have come to view perfectionism as Marsellus Wallace view PRIDE.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57930.87
ETH 2362.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36