But 8 month earlier...

in #comics7 years ago (edited)


Well on my other social network, the tinhat techie hippie community* DIASPORA, a couple of people have suddenly begun to reshare the first page of the comic that I am working on these days, Phill from GCHQ.

*(just making fun, I really like the Diaspora community)


That made me just casually read the post that I made 8 month ago with the following message:


* Drawing - 966 × 1350 px - 535 KB PNG - First page in a rather improvised comic that I have decided not to finish - not now anyway. I have made two more pages, but they need some finish, some text etc. So they will come up later. Licensed CC-by so anybody who likes can continue the story if they like :) Made with Krita.

But even though I had made up my mind not to carry on with the comic, a couple of people on Diaspora made me reconsider

  • This looks excellent! Please consider working more on it! Put up a crowdfunding campaign or something to finish it! (And I wouldn’t mind having a danish version either.)
  • Now I need to know what mischief is Phil from GCHQ on! I must know!!

So because of four-five people I made the two next pages and then... well, I kept going. Funny to see how the internet, and the direct feedback from people made me reconsider.

When I shortly after began posting the pages here on Steemit my first real reader (at least the first that commented) was @steevc who has been following it since, the same way as I have been following his wild pub-crawls, guitar-adventures, chickens and much more. I have also gained two translators here on Steemit: @shortcut who translates into German, and @vcelier who makes the French translation.

To me it is a completely new experience that people influence my decisions, and the comic has been the most interesting in that regard. So to everybody who follows, comments and shares Phill from GCHQ: Thank you very, very much! Tomorrow I am at page 30!

Link to the original post of Phill from GCHQ

Sort:  

I remember the day, when I pointed @steevc to your blog :)

Yes? thanks! That's when the Steemit community works best I think. I try to reshare a lot but, most things happen in the comment section that's for sure.

I found it:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@steevc/follow-friday-time-again

I'm not commenting much, since I don't think 'great post' is very valuable.
I do my best to upvote good content, though.

Haha, there you go. Only 8 moth ago...

I want to comment more, but just reading through the things I upvote takes quite some time, so thinking up a clever comment is not always possible.

But if you someday really need a 'great post' comment anyway you can use my Nice post sticker.

Cool. New to me. Reminiscent of the early 70's; Zap! I'm going in.
Following you please continue :)

Thanks, I will continue as you will see in the post I will put up in a minute :)

And as you can read here, you are spot on with the inspiration for the comic :)

  1. Phill from GCHQ and it's inspirations: Dick Tracy
  2. Phill from GCHQ and it's inspirations: Freak Brothers
  3. Phill from GCHQ and it's inspirations: Robert Crumb

You're most welcome. My favorite style. I had a friend, Dr Cornflakes introduce me to Robert Crumb back in 72'. Jazzed to see your work. steem on.

Dr. Cornflakes had good taste.. and what a name :) Glad you like the comic. I make a new page every Thurday., and post it here on Steemit.

Great news. yeah, Dr Cornflakes was a great cartoonist, just not the fame, taught me about using the rapidograph pens. His name started as George Gruel. He an Peyote Pete worked together on the Grateful Dead movie. Man, you're bringing back memories long stashed in my overstuffed brain. Thanks :)

Haha, that sounds like a story you have to write here on Steemit :) I for one would like to hear about it!

It is definitely on the list. Having a long and eclective life as a musician has packed my open mind and I love to share. Thanks for the encouragement :)

distoped

I honestly don't know that word :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55948.41
ETH 2523.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31