You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trial of Socrates comic - Socrates and I need your input again...

in #comics7 years ago

It all depends on the feel that you are going for.
Gain's example seems to look like it's going to be put in a handout at a museum. But is this his final look? Was he #2 on the previous post?

Daniel's version is definitely amazing and it seems like he knows what he's doing, and he's definitely putting in the effort to get the work. This would show me that he REALLY wants to work on this project. It also looks like he has a lot more experience.

From just the above images, I'd go with Daniel, (if the price is right) but I would also like to see what else Gain has to offer. maybe hold off on Daniel, and ask Gain to elaborate more, or to draw a scene for the same. Pay him to do it and see which you prefer.

You could always use both artist for different parts of the story if you are going to have multiple books.

Sort:  

Yeah, that's the trouble. I don't yet know what Gian's final look will be. He was artist #2 in the earlier post. My left-over hesitation there was whether or not his characters were expressive enough.

I agree that Daniel has kicked significant ass without a definitive promise of moving forward; so that in itself should mean something.

I guess for me, I'd rather have "realism" more than "comic" art; but if the choice is between expressive comic, and not-quite expressive realism, I'd choose the former.

I've asked Gian to add some expression samples along with his character designs. So I should get a good idea from that soon.

Thanks for the input!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59324.20
ETH 2585.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47