Sort:  

It does cost voting power and grants no curation rewards. That’s the disincentive built into the system to avoid flag abuse.
As I mentioned in another reply, I’m already softening my stance a bit and have been targeting just the content that’s reposting material and including markers such as [oc] in the title. It may have been original content shared on reddit... but if the they’re not bothering to edit that out of their cut & paste sharing then I consider it plagiarism.
I’m torn on the other spammy comic strip shares. They’re mainly just a vehicle for these accounts to direct a few paid bot upvotes to. If I’m feeling extra grumpy I blast them a bit too in hopes it’ll encourage them to keep their little Steem farming operation out of my favorite tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59231.42
ETH 2599.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45