Socially Awkward (Original Comic)

in #comics7 years ago

Being useless in social situations- genetic or learned behaviour? 

Who knows. But the truth is, some of us suffer from an inability to connect to others in groups larger than two. Either we don’t know what to say, or every word is considered too carefully and delivered far too late with the wrong inflection. The eyes say too much and the mouth either struggles to keep up or races ahead inappropriately. Is it because I spent most of my developmental years drawing, wrapped in my own fantasies? 

I’m no psychologist, but I can at least use comics to explore a little bit about what it means to be Socially Awkward. I created this comic in 2011 and revised it in 2012, using traditional pencils and digital inks and lettering. 

Please let me know what you think!  


Sort:  

Good stuff man. I just started (barely) doing cartoon/comic stuff myself. Any words of advice?

Either way great stuff man. Got yourself a new follower.

Hi Kryptik, I guess the most important thing is to do it because you love it. There's little money and a lot of work involved, so it's got to be for the love. Apart from that, like anything, practice makes perfect! 10,000 hours make a master, as the saying goes. Good luck and thanks for the follow.

I would also add, that actually doing it - making a comic - even though you are not satisfied with the result is the best way to actually learn it. Somehow I have always known it to be true, but it did ring a bell when I heard it said. If you go down to the middle of this post you can see Paul A. Kring, and old Danish cartoonist, And he said it: "The only way to learn to make comics is... to make comics."

So... yea, I know it is a bit boring advice, but work is always the way to good art.

Wow. Lots of amazing scenes. That panel from inside the car! Powerful message too. I love it!

Thanks so much- all true!

oh mannnnn i love these, ive become such a huge fan of different indy comic book releases and stuff and man i really love your work man... so excited to see more and more bro keep it up, you have my support!!

Aw cheers dude! Stay tuned, I'll be releasing more from the vaults and some newer stuff soon

I like how the drawings in different way suck you into the protagonist. You see from his view, the dimming of the surroundings, the low lens perspectives, and the last close-up. It all tells the story!

That's the aim- thanks for checking in :)

Congratulations @dcfisher! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Nice piece! Welcome to Steemit :)

Nice to be here, I'm really surprised at the level of support on this platform.

I can totally relate to this, thanks for sharing! Up voted and followed :-)

Thank you :)

Congratulations @dcfisher! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Nicely done. Your use of black & whites is really colorful.

Thanks- nice play on words!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59114.57
ETH 2309.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49