You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Striking Paper Gold

in #comics6 years ago (edited)

HUGE find. So awesome.

I just did a photoshop recently that I didn't realize looks like a semi-homage cover

Edit: Two things I noticed on close up glance. Writing on top left means little compared to that condition, looks really pretty, I obviously can't tell 100%, but I bet there be some possible white pages in there. Second thing I noticed and liked because it does mean something... that they were in bags at all. I remember getting a collection where some comics were wrapped in syran wrap lol, I can't hate, better than nothing.

Sort:  

Lol. Fantastic use of the photoshop!!

Yeah getting a collection that’s in bags n boards or even bags helps most of the time. Means someone at some point gave a shit about them.

Nothing hurts more than somebody rolling in with a duffle bag crammed with old loose books. I pulled out an Iron Man 55 out of a duffle bag once. That hurt. Just mangled and stuffed in.

Yeah the numbering in pencil usually indicated a destroy date for newsstand and has no bearing on price or grade as it’s very common on Golden and silver books.

I can't imagine a duffle bag, so scary, because you know it wouldn't be full of 90s books, but something crazy like that Iron Man 55.

Before I was even into buying and reselling, but just collecting for myself still, I had driven out to the sticks, it was at least an hour drive, no joke dirt road, old old old lady, in the 80s old, had the oldest comics in a photo album. Three ring binder style, comics were actually underneath the plastic part where the photos go. I was not as well versed in gold/silver age books back then so I don't even think I got anything that day (big regret as I type this out and haven't thought about it in forever).

Oh man...to think about all the regrets on passing on collections.

So many of them to tell.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68622.46
ETH 3788.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66