Striking Paper Gold

in #comics6 years ago

bf912456-b650-4366-bd67-b63bb86e3295.jpeg


Today we bought a comic book collection and found a delicious book hiding amongst the Daniel Boone’s and Classics Illustrated’s that I will NEVER move. This is Adventure Comics #247 which features the 1st Appearance of the Legion of Super-Heroes!!!

Cosmic Boy, Saturn Girl, and Lightning Boy graces the funny book pages for the very first time ever in this issue which was released in April of 1958.

This book looks to be in spectacular shape. I’m guessing mid grade after a press. I’ll be pressing it this weekend and submitting it for grading to CGC. Fingers crossed for a nice grade!!! I’ll keep ya all posted. In high grade this book can sell for over 20k!!! I’m going to guess this one will be somewhere in the 3-6k range depending on grade. Wish me luck!!!!


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

I bid 6 Steem!!!! C’mon! 6 Steem will be worth $6k someday...

Why you tryin to lowball me...if you would have said 5 or 6 Steem this could have been yours but you were tryin to be a chizzler. Your loss...

Muahahaha! As you can see... with the help of the Time Trapper I did in fact bid 6 Steem, so the comic is mine!

E8858F93-C14A-4E8D-A0F8-6EDFAB967277.png

Waitaminnit.... you mean the edit history is always there because Steemit is on a “blockchain.” Dammit immutability!!! You’ve foiled my evil plan!

Lol. Pesky blockchain!!!

That's a very nice score. Make sure you let us know how the grading comes out.

It's finds like this that make yard sale collections and bulk lots fun to go through.

Yup!!! I just I’ll totally post once the grade is back. I pressed it last night to fix the little flaws that I could fix and I’ll be sending it out this weekend. Hoping for a 5!

Nice. Can't be upset by that

Not at all. Whatever it comes back as is a win in all honesty.

HUGE find. So awesome.

I just did a photoshop recently that I didn't realize looks like a semi-homage cover

Edit: Two things I noticed on close up glance. Writing on top left means little compared to that condition, looks really pretty, I obviously can't tell 100%, but I bet there be some possible white pages in there. Second thing I noticed and liked because it does mean something... that they were in bags at all. I remember getting a collection where some comics were wrapped in syran wrap lol, I can't hate, better than nothing.

Lol. Fantastic use of the photoshop!!

Yeah getting a collection that’s in bags n boards or even bags helps most of the time. Means someone at some point gave a shit about them.

Nothing hurts more than somebody rolling in with a duffle bag crammed with old loose books. I pulled out an Iron Man 55 out of a duffle bag once. That hurt. Just mangled and stuffed in.

Yeah the numbering in pencil usually indicated a destroy date for newsstand and has no bearing on price or grade as it’s very common on Golden and silver books.

I can't imagine a duffle bag, so scary, because you know it wouldn't be full of 90s books, but something crazy like that Iron Man 55.

Before I was even into buying and reselling, but just collecting for myself still, I had driven out to the sticks, it was at least an hour drive, no joke dirt road, old old old lady, in the 80s old, had the oldest comics in a photo album. Three ring binder style, comics were actually underneath the plastic part where the photos go. I was not as well versed in gold/silver age books back then so I don't even think I got anything that day (big regret as I type this out and haven't thought about it in forever).

Oh man...to think about all the regrets on passing on collections.

So many of them to tell.

seriously impressive. I knew an American fellow many years ago who was a mormon missionary with me. he was a convert and financed his mission by selling comics. While here he would occasionally wander into little cafe's and look at their comics. He would find a fortune in comics as no one here in South Africa knew of their value.

Wow that’s impressive! I love hearing stories like that. Are comics big there now or not really?

Dang. Good luck! My dad (born in 1943) always laments that my grandmother threw out his early Superman comics in one of their moves across country.

Comic saved from a tidy mom. Good job! 😄

I hear these heartbreaking stories almost daily at this point. So sad but that’s why this stuff is worth what it is. Nobody knew...

Congrats! It does look like a funny book too with the gameshow style voting cover lol

YeH I love old covers. Just corny and hokey. Tons of cheesy word balloons.

@blewitt Classic find, good luck with the grading!

Thx a ton! I’ll do a lil wrote up on it when it comes back from CGC. I pressed it yesterday to make it just that much prettier.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61560.41
ETH 2894.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61