Adapted into Comic Books - The X-Files from 1995

in #comics6 years ago



The X-Files #7 (July 1995) by Topps Comics

 A murderer kills by drilling a hole in his victims foreheads. Mulder believes it is being done because the killer wants his victims to experience a kind of psychological awakening.  Written by Stefan Petrucha, drawn by Charles Adlard, cover by Miran Kim.

- Buy this comic book with Bitcoin and many other cryptocurrencies on the OpenBazaar 2.0 Crypto Collectibles store -





Mylo Xyloto Comics #1 - A Quick Look Inside

Mysterius The Unfathomable #1 - A Quick Look Inside

Adapted into Comic Books - Stephen King's The Stand from 2008

Sort:  

I'm a HUGE fan of the Topps X-Files comics. I remember the massive underestimation they made when it came to issue #1 which required at least two additional reprints in the six-figure range to satisfy demand. As I recall, #2 and #3 also had reprints, though not as large since they upped the first-run count.

This one in particular was a story that stuck with me for a long time, since people were getting murdered via a hole drilled into the skull, but died with smiles on their faces. Also, while the interior artwork varied in quality, Miran Kim's covers are jaw-dropping in their authenticity and creep factor. I'd have bought the books for them alone, honestly.

Bruh, I hear you on Miran Kim. It was like X-Files had their own Dave McKean / Sandman cover artist pairing going on. I love Adlard, a lot, but I love how Kim did the covers. I'm going to have to dig out in my personal collection something you'd appreciate, it is just these huge cards, roughly comic book backing board size, with X-Files painted art by a few different artists, a lot of them really dark art. I have no clue where I put them though but I will post them if I find them, I forget if I ever found out how to price them but loved them so just kept them with my own stuff. Topps really got lucky when they got the X-Files license, but on the other hand, they treated the series with such great respect and love.

Latest episode of X-Files is top tier comedic episodes btw, not sure if you are keeping up, but it is a "monster of the week" stand alone type episode so you don't feel the need to have to watch anything else to enjoy it, just appreciation of old episodes of X-Files because it has a few flashbacks that you may have remembered differently that will make you smile.

Never read the X-Files comics from Topps, they weren't carried in stores in my little sleepy town in northern California at the time. Thanks for sharing this one. I see now that I need to check out Topps comics on eBay...

Used to watch the X-Files on tv! Saw both movies! I always wondered why they didn’t make more movies.

If you enjoyed the shows and the movies, I think you'd probably enjoy this current running season. I wish Scully wouldn't have said she was leaving because I would have taken another movie too.

The show was hugely popular in Russia in the 90s, and there was even a series of books about X-files, the first ones being just a kind of short novels, based on the episodes (that is ok, i believe) ..

BUT it just got crazy afterwards when unknown writers began writing their own stories .. I even remember that the names were changed, probably to avoid some of the copyright issues, like Molder of Scally or something :D

Wikipedia says there were 37 "original" books written in Russia, even something about X-files versus King-Kong :D The title says "King Kong is dead"

I use to collect odd comic books, i was very addicted ! Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57743.27
ETH 3083.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42