Comic Books from the 90s - Icon from 1993

in #comics6 years ago



Icon #1 (May 1993) by Milestone / DC Comics

"By Their Own Bootstraps"  Written by Dwayne McDuffie, drawn by M.D. Bright, cover by Denys Cowan.

- Buy this comic book with Bitcoin and many other cryptocurrencies at the Crypto Collectibles store on OpenBazaar - Buy this comic with other forms of payment on the Crypto Collectibles Etsy store




Bronze Age Classic Comic Book - Captain Carrot from 1982

Copper Age Classic Comic Book - Deadman from 1986

Comic Crossovers That Really Happened - Spyboy meets Young Justice from 2002

Sort:  

Nice post! What's your favourite comic? In story and/or style?

Favorite comic, ugh, rather than think super hard I'm going with my heart and saying the Sandman series. That full main Neil Gaiman run is so good. Probably the comic I have re-read the most and just typing about it makes me want to pick it up no joke. The story from that series that is the best is, fuck, too many good ones. It goes from funny and fantasy to dark and disturbing all in the same runs. The serial killer convention, my god, so good and creepy.

Despite my personal collection has more indie and weird stuff in it, I still have an affinity for general superhero style books.

Art, Jim Lee was the favorite all growing up, then at some point I fell in love with Bill Sienkiewicz, anything he does is gold and I want framed in my house.

And to tie it all together, an image of Sandman by Sienkiewicz

Bonus Sandman's sister Death

The cover art is awesome!

Btw i wounder how much supply did you have, to upload a new comics everyday? ...i hope its limitkess! :)

You can see what is available online already here https://blockbooth.com/store/QmakxNv9Y5YFuAuvjvx4mEda3TmFBaHDtacd1KtEL56mP4 majority of books from this link have been up on Steemit

Lots of stock still here, still grabbing old collections whenever able to, new comics come out every Wednesday, definitely good for at least three full human lifetimes, but not really limitless.

Happy to hear that. I like going trough comics to find inspiration.

In the other hand im sure when i first would start collecting comics, i couldnt stop anymore xD

Btw do you use @steembay to sell comics? Looks like a good opportunity to me ;)

Yeah, collecting comics, it is definitely an addiction lol. I have stopped collecting so many times in my life, my current status is I have about two short boxes of comics, and none of them are really "valuable" as far as being key or high end issues. Buying comics to sell is sooooo hard sometimes, like if I was picking up a collection and there is a few hundred comics in it, it is easy to convince myself "I can keep one for myself!" and then bam, back on the wagon. Or fell off the wagon. I forget how that phrase works.

I have used @peerhub in the past but not @steembay. I have also briefly looked at the Syscoin Blockmarket. Started the store initially on Moolah then moved to OpenBazaar. Had some items on Purse.io for a little time. Steembay seems like a neat concept but I like the OpenBazaar app the best out of all the choices available because of more payment options for the end user. Litecoin direct implementation is being worked on, they just released the ability to take Bitcoin Cash and ZCash, as well as Shapeshift is built into the app so whatever coin choices available there are usable on OB too.

I tell you what though, if I was an artist selling crafts or soaps or any other physical goods other than comics where I only have a limited quantity of any given issue to sale, there is no reason not to be using every single one of the above options. If you are one of the sites or apps, you should be on them all.

Edit: After posting I remember using steembay when it initially came out however I think there was a hard rule at the time restricting it to listing prices in SBD or Steem, rather than what the chosen currency equivalent at the time of purchase. Can't have fluctuating prices on a store with 2000+ items. Not sure if this has changed, will look into it again.

I think two boxes of cool comics is just a healthly amount^^
Im sure you have some pearls in there.. Maybe not so expensive ones but cool artstyle, maybe signed...

Im now back into comics since my childhood, when i draw 3 comics similar to the dragonball series, i have to post them sometimes :'D

...I imagine drawing so fast and clean like Jim Lee is such a big inspiration to practice comic art.

I like this your post
Beatifull very good

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57916.39
ETH 2552.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42