Comic Books from the 90s - Gen 13 from 1994

in #comics6 years ago


Gen 13 #2 (March 1994) by Image Comics

Written by Brandon Choi, Jim Lee, Jeff Mariotte, drawn by J Scott Campbell and Alex Garner.

- Buy this comic book with Bitcoin and many other cryptocurrencies at the Crypto Collectibles store on OpenBazaar - Buy this comic with other forms of payment on the Crypto Collectibles Etsy store





[SYFY WIRE] Spider-Gwen Sketched By J. Scott Campbell - Artists Alley

Comic Books from the 90s - Wetworks from 1993

Adapted into Comic Books - Bruce Lee from 1994

Sort:  

Yasssss! Gen 13 love. Have an upvote. :)

It's fun to look back on this series' roots and see just how far it went from its fairly crazy origin. I love that there's an occasional pop-in from the Gen 13 crowd in other DC titles, even if it's just a background appearance with only a couple of lines by Fairchild or Grunge and not the whole team.

Plus, the introduction of Rainmaker this issue is huge since she was an early openly-gay protagonist from the 90's with not just a positive outlook on things despite her struggle, but also wasn't defined by her attraction to women either. That was just one facet of her identity. And while she may have started life as a serial-numbers-filed-off Storm, she very quickly took on a life and talents of her own just like the rest of the gang.

How you keep from sitting down and reading all the goodies in your shop, @cryplectibles, I will never know. :)

but also wasn't defined by her attraction to women either. That was just one facet of her identity.

I always enjoyed this as well. Not that a gay charter in a comic book being defined by their gayness is bad or whatever, just at a time when that was more than likely the case for any gay character, it was good to have something different where when mentioning the character it wasn't the first thing you mention about them. She was obviously a stripper first.

How you keep from sitting down and reading

Bills to pay and cats mouths to feed kind of force ones hand on any time to read. I keep up with most music or movies or tv because I am able to do other things while those forms of entertainment on, comic books you actually have to make time for, something I have little of atm. It's really bad when I can actually remember specifically the last time I read a comic book because I forced myself to, it's been over a month now, I really really enjoyed it, I want to finish it so bad that I have purposely left it out (it's to the left of me atm). I will admit half the time it just feels like "not enough time" but the other half is when I do have breaks I tend to open up Animal Crossing on the phone and rest in a recliner for a bit and it just slips my mind.

Edit: I also have to throw in, it used to miff me when I would know the guys at the comic shop were reading the new comics and then putting them on the shelves. Then when I worked in a shop, my opinion not only didn't change, but grew stronger. People go to those shelves for mint untouched books! I was those people! So when buying to resell, I take the photos you see here on Steemit, OpenBazaar, Etsy, etc, after that, comics go directly into a bag/board and in a box to not be touched till someone buys. I tend not to sell new books because of no Diamond account plus the investment money it takes to regularly sell new books I don't have, but when I do have a "NCBD" book for sale, it is 100% unread by me or the cats.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60314.14
ETH 2890.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35