You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making of a comic - Format and colour

in #comics7 years ago

Great article! I love the insight into your formatting. I'm amazed when artists point out the grid rules they've been following all along that I've not noticed. However I think that's the sign of a good layout. When it serves the story invisibly, that's something to be commended.
I can't remember who said it, but I recall an artist remarking that with comics, the more you learn, the slower you work. Rather than speeding up production, learning more about the form leads to every page becoming a new puzzle of layouts, pacing and design. Things a novice may not even consider become painstaking endeavors. I think only the rarest artists, like Eisner or Kirby, either push through that wall or have such a natural aptitude that it looks effortless.

Sort:  

And a great comment! thank you :)

It might be true that when you start to consider all the complexities it might slow you down. I think I will get to this in one of these making of a comic-posts. The whole puzzle metaphor is well picked.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64781.14
ETH 3119.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53