You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trial of Socrates comic - Socrates and I need your input again...

in #comics7 years ago

Yeah... I don’t think it’s the wrong choice, but Daniel is crushing it! That’s the kind of showing that has you start wondering what other projects you might have in the pipeline.
Hell, I’ll be keeping an eye on him with that thought in mind!

Sort:  

So, I asked Gian to do a couple of the character designs with a look at some emotion - one angry, one joyful. I have to say, I thought Socrates was a bit too subtle; but Aristocles looks great.

Socrates_Aristocles_Double.jpg

It is so close... they’re both exceptional. I think Gian’s work may rely more heavily on some great color work, while Daniel seems to have some great line weights & spotted blacks that add more dimension on their own.
Gian’s look still screams art/Indy comic while Daniel has a more mainstream feel.
I don’t think you’ll be disappointed no matter what.

Thanks for the input! I guess I'll have to see what Gian sends next. Honestly, my concern right now is expressiveness for the characters, I think. I feel like Daniel has the better handle on expressiveness. Or, in any event, I can't yet tell from Gian's character designs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59324.20
ETH 2585.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47