Unorganized Chaos

in #comics6 years ago

image

Space and time are 2 commodities that we are in desperate need of at our shop Conquest Comics. You can probably lump organization into that mix as well, but that will come once we are able to tackle one of the first two mentioned.

As we enter the 11th year at our shop, I look around and stand proud of what we were able to build...literally from nothing. It was an idea that I had and I was able to wrangle a long time friend into joining me on this adventure...mainly because I was a bit fearful to go it alone.

We’ve had some amazing accomplishments and things to be proud of at our shop. We’ve held not one, but two signings with one of my favorite artists on the planet...Mr. Adam Hughes. We’ve created several store exclusive Funko Pops and Variant covers that have done exceptionally well on the secondary market and have helped us stake our claim in this ever so rough industry. We’ve moved into a larger location in the plaza. We annually exhibit at the largest conventions on the planet and not to toot my own horn, have one of the craziest selections of product and inventory that I’ve ever seen at a comic & toy shop.

With all of that though comes...well...unorginization. And piles...and...well...rooms that I haven’t been able to enter in ages. Yeah, that’s the downside. We have a ton of inventory but often times when I attempt to restock or locate an item in the back, I fail. Reason is that we have a lack of space and what is there is just crammed with product.

imageThis specific back room is inaccessible and has been for quite some time. That will soon change.

Between the action figures, Funko Pops, comic books, statues, graphic novels, and other miscellaneous randomness...we are out of space in our back room. I feel like I’m walking through a maze back there each time I enter and am unsure if I’ll be killed by an avalanche of collapsing piles of toys when I head back to take a piss. Speaking of pissing...it’s been burni...oh, probably shouldn’t mention that here to my internet friends. (Books Doctors appointment) Seriously though, we even utilize our bathroom which looks straight out of a Saw film, for storage. We keep our Hot Toys boxes and Eaglemoss Batmobilia extras in there...just soaking up that comic shop bathroom stink....close your eyes and try to imagine it. Got it?!? Niiiiiiiice!

Sorry, I got sidetracked again. The point is that one of the few aspects that we have absolutely failed at is organization. That’s the cost of having a stupid amount of product I guess. But that is going to change soon.

Yesterday my landlord popped in for a visit. I always love his visits as we end up shooting the shit for a while as he’s just an all around awesome dude. He is the single biggest reason that I wouldn’t leave this location for a bigger spot. We just get along too well and that to me, is worth the sacrifice.

When I was headed to SteemFest in Krakow, he gave me tons of pointers as he lives in Poland half of the year. He toggles back and forth and tells me insane stories each time we chat it up.

There I go again...so while here, we touched upon the lack of extra space here a bit and discussed the two 8x20 feet shipping containers in the back parking lot, also filled to the brim with nonsense. He’s always helpful and I think appreciates the fact that we aren’t scumbags who beat him like other tenants of the plaza. So he proposed that he would pay to add on additional source of storage for us. That was amazing to hear!

Now I have to go to the township and inquire about how large a shed/structure we can place on the property. Once I find that out, we can figure out the details and get some well needed new storage space for this dump. That will allow us to organize the back room and help us be more efficient with restocking and separating inventory for the website. Looking forward to seeing what we can do with this bit of positive news.

Thanks Deepak!!! Updates to come!

Blewitt

Sort:  

Holy cow imagine if you had to find a product in that mountain of stuff, good luck clearing that out lol @blewitt, congrts on your 11th shop year.

Thanks brother!!! Appreciate the kind words! Yeah that’s the problem is that happens so often. I need to find something that I know I have but is lost in the abyss.

Posted using Partiko iOS

That’s great to hear of positive landlord/tenet relationship. When we had the pizza shop, all they wanted to do is charge us more money. Even though we had a contract at a certain price. They ended up doing just that, I forget the exact term, but it boils down to “landscaping” fees. They charged all tenets around $200 extra a month! Keep in mind that there wasn’t any landscape, a few trees that were already there and a small patch of grass. We even got everyone together and thought of getting a lawyer. It was to expensive to fight and we ended up just selling the business, because of their shadiness and other reasons as well. The people who bought it couldn’t keep it going and shut down less than 3 years later. So many times in life people don’t care and just care about money. They think someone will just and pay them, the area is nice and developing. So I guess because of that they think they have the right to charge whatever they wanted.

Reminds me of the local baseball stadium that was built in that city. It wasn’t even triple A. Really wasn’t even semi pro. Anyways they said they were interested in local businesses to make the food for games. We saw not only a way to make money, but to be involved with things happening in the community. So we sent them a few hundred bucks of free food to sample, feed their office and welcome them. They said they wanted to have us in the stadium!! Great news! So a rep came out and said that we could be in there, for a small cost of 20k! Wait what? I mean this wasn’t the Cleveland Indians!! This was like for a 3 years contract, good news is that another pizza owner we knew did this with another team and he guaranteed us we’d lose money.

We said no and they got a non local company to fill the spot.😒they honestly thought they would fill the stadium for years to come, for what a bunch of nobodies playing baseball. The office never even ordered from us despite feeding them. In the end they just thought we were suckers and wanted to rob them blind. So nice hearing someone can try to help you guys, instead of trying to “eff” you guys!

And I ramble! FYI that comic shop I visited was such a cluster!! Like had to step over thing to shop! Soooo at least you’re not the only one!! 😂😂😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah I’m lucky in that regard with my landlord. I’d rather have a smooth relationship as I hear all about the previous deadbeat tenants.

That’s awful regarding your situation. Such shit and greed with some folks.

Yeah, clutter and comic shops go hand in hand. Lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @blewitt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 7750 replies. Your next target is to reach 8000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Here are the winners
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

My saying is "Organized people are just too lazy to look for their stuff." LOL

That is brilliant and full of truth. Lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by blewitt from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87