Doom is HeresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #comics6 years ago

image

I believe it was back in 2004. I was at the San Diego Comic Con and pasing through the Sideshow Collectibles booth. They always have an impressive booth filled with display pieces of all the different statues, busts, figures, props, and replicas that are slated to release in the coming year.

It was there that I first laid eyes on my favorite statue of all time. It was simply a work of art. I’m talking about the Doctor Doom Premium Format Statue. Sideshow’s Premium Format line is a 1/4 Scale depiction of a character in resin cast, with some sort of real world material incorporated. In this case, the Doctor’s leather belt and cloth cape.

I remember seeing this piece and I immediately pre ordered it at the show. There are actually 2 versions of this statue, an exclusive one only sold through Sideshow directly, and a regular release sold at select specialty retailers throughout the land. The regular release is limited to 1000 pieces and is just the statue on the throne. The exclusive is limited to 500 and comes with the pedestal and chalice of wine.

image

image

If I can recall correctly, the Exclusive was $325.00 upon release. The regular was $300.00. I think. Not too shabby considering the exclusives currently command between $4000-$5000 bucks depending on how many are available. The regular releases between $2500-$3000 smackers. That’s a pretty sweet rate of return.

Thinking back to the glory days of statues around 2006-2010, I had over 10 of these in my inventory. I think I had 4 exclusives and 7 regulars at one point. The exclusives were limited to one per account so I had to set up a bunch of funny accounts with family to get a few extra. I sold them all off over time with this one being my last one. I really don’t want to get rid of it, but if I got around $4500 in cash for it...I couldn’t pass that up. So for now it sits in my shop on the statue cases where it’s at least admired by all who come into the shop.

image

It truly is a sharp looking piece. The level of detail put into the throne is a work of art. The back of the throne has the look of carved ivory and sculpted precious metals. The carvings are intricate and precise. The pedestal holding the chalice is lovely as well. The cup looks straight from the set of Indiana Jones & The Last Crusade.

image

image

I was going to show the box but it’s buried under a ton of statue boxes currently soooooo...no. I have number 218/500 and as much as having $4500 cash would help the situation currently, I hope the piece remains here with me for some time.

image

The funny thing is there are knockoff counterfeit pieces of this specific statue out there. They actually look really good and sell for around a grand. You can find them if you search hard enough. I always thought if I did sell mine, I’d consider buying the fake for display. That way I can still admire its beauty but also come out $3000 richer. Hey, that’s a lot of Steem!!!

Thanks for checking it out.

Blewitt

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Keep on kicking ass eSteem.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @blewitt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 30000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 31000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I have the real #218 of the Premium with the exclusive holo sticker. Hate to say it, but yours is a knock off.

Lies!!! All lies!!!

The holo sticker means fake..made in Taiwan.

howdy sir blewitt! wow that is amazing and the throne truly is a work of art! But what about what steematt said, did you get ripped off?

lol....no!!! I bought this when it came out directly from the manufacturer. There are ways to tell the fake apart but to the untrained eye...they would not know. @steemmatt just likes stirring up trouble...lol

oh ok great, I knew you wouldn't have gotten a fake one. lol.

Lol. Nope. When this was released there were t fakes. Only when they started selling for a few grand did the scumbags start counterfeiting them. Lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sir blewitt! This whole industry is amazing. I wouldn't think that people would have so much money to spend on these pieces!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by blewitt from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I love you

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63057.34
ETH 2546.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64