A Masterful Take on Mysterio

in #comics5 years ago

This year at the New York Comic Con, I decided to treat myself to 2 pieces of art to add to my ever growing collection. One from Stanley “Artgerm” Lau, and the other from Kim Jung Gi. Both are absolute masters of their craft and I’m honored and thrilled to have both names checked off. I’ll be showing off Artgerm’s piece shortly. Today...it’s all about the Korean genius Kim Jung Gi.

I fell in love with this guys work a few years back when I saw one of his videos showing his amazing freehand as he created a mural that eventually became connecting covers for the comic book series Civil War II from Marvel. This is that piece and the video is below that. Trust me...watch it. It’s breathtaking watching him work.

cv00v5u22a.jpg

SERIOUSLY...WATCH IT

He has that rare talent where he is able to recall these images in great detail, all from memory. That blows my mind. When I first came upon this video, it ended up with me going down the rabbit hole and watching a bunch until the wee hours of the morning. Simply stunning. There is no sketching first...just straight ink. So naturally when I heard he was at NYCC, I jumped at the opportunity to have him do me up my favorite Spidey villain in Mysterio. The end result?!? Perfection!!!

pgi3iuii8s.jpg

87ibsnsyme.jpg

Want to see the progression video? Then pop on over to his Instagram and watch the magic unfold!!!

https://www.instagram.com/p/B3XqvxTFQ7V/?igshid=1o8ix0dkwoyfl

I can’t wait until I actually start getting some of these treasures framed up! Thank you to my buddy Mike ( @falcore ) for organizing this for me as I was stuck at my booth dealing with the hordes of maniacs. Also, a big thank you to Kim Jung Gi for squeezing me into his busy schedule!

Blewitt

Sort:  

Holy shit, that's fucking cool. You should have given him a fat smooch on his asshole for gracing you with that masterpiece.

Pretty sweet!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

So jelly. Fuck man, both these artists are next level in their own rights. Gi I can just drift off watching draw. Anyone who draws, be amazed at this guy who as @blewitt said, just goes at the art, no pencils, no order, just creating amazing shit. That Mysterio is awesome.

Gi is just one of those guys who art will be enjoyed beyond his comic audience, I am just so happy he must enjoy comics enough to be part of his portfolio.

wow, that's a nice piece!

wow, that's a nice piece! Watched the instagram vid of him doing it...yikes, he's good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56589.13
ETH 3005.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16