'Ewok Fatality' - digital with tutorial

in #comic7 years ago (edited)

WOW! I was so grateful as to how many people enjoyed my last artwork. I am genuinely happy it resonated with so many people and it has inspired me to do more for you guys. Seriously, even if there was no rewards, the amount of upvotes alone makes me happy that people are enjoying my art and it makes me happy to make you happy!


Check out my last cartoon digital painting here: Michonne




Ewok Fatality.jpg


I start with a quick sketch, not really knowing what I was going to do. I knew I wanted to do an Ewok in a cartoon style. I guess residual thought of my previous Michonne comic made me want it to be a little.... less family friendly 😆
Ewok Fatality 1.jpg


I do more refined sketch over the top of the rough sketch. This is on another layer so I can delete the original sketch afterward. Nice dark lines to suit the comic style.
Ewok Fatality 2.jpg


I delete the original sketch and tighten up the main outline a little bit more. I did this all in black, normally I'd do it in just darker colours, such as a dark brown for the fur etc. but as this was done late at night I was pretty tired n a bit lazy 😊
Ewok Fatality 3.jpg


Here's where I do a bit of a colour scheme. Anyone who follows my blog paintings might know that I am colourblind. I don't say this as an excuse or whatever but it does often make it a tad challenging to pick colours. If you ever see colours that don't really make sense, this is why haha. I paint in the flat base colours like a paint-by-numbers and just fill in the areas.
Ewok Fatality 4.jpg


Adding a little bit more, I'll paint in some more details with usually just 3 shades of the same colour. Such as a light, mid and dark brown for the fur to emphasis the highlights and shadows. I don't paint too many details cos I want it to stay cartoony and also cos I'm fairly new to painting cartoons so I have a lot to still learn.
Ewok Fatality 5.jpg


Finally, I put in a light blue background with the trees and treehouses keeping it relevant and a tribute to the Ewok world. I normally try to keep this subtle to not overpower the main image in any way. Sign off and sit back and pick all my faults out and try to fight off any self-doubt while I think about the next image I wish to create 😊
Ewok Fatality.jpg

All done! If you enjoyed this painting and tutorial I would genuinely appreciate if you'd like to follow or have any constructive advice for me put it in the comments.


Now the hard part, who next? Leave a comment below.
Help me decide!







Sort:  

You have talent.. :)

Thanks @mirda more hard work than talent :) Still working hard. Not anywhere near the artist I hope to be one day.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @spaceginger to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

@spaceginger I think you found your niche mate :). SET Up that website gallery ASAP lol.

Thanks bro! I've always loved cartoons but never really did them too much cos I saw little point in them. Still have a few old ones on my harddrive I will share but I'm getting back into doing new ones now :) I do have a FB page but yeah not much action so I haven't posted in ages.

This is really great! Resteemed :D Love your stuff @spaceginger

Thanks heaps @gavinthegreat. Really appreciate it. Art has always been a love of mine so it's really nice to get good responses from people :) I will definitely make time to check out your blog today as I'm already a follower but between work, home, KIDS!!!!! (right now they're bugging me to play Roblox!) and posting and all the other life shit it's tough to really take in all in hey :)

I like your scrubby palettes XD Mine have to be labelled round dots (don't ask, just the stupid way I paint). That Stormtrooper seems to be very short XD Those stormtrooper and mandalorian armour must have some seriously secure helmets if the heads don't come rolling out of them XD Also with Ewok hands being the size they are, would it be able to hold up the helmet like that? (yes I'm just being nitpicky now XD)

Your colours look fine to me. Do you see less colours or more?

Yeah I don't generally have a particular set of brushes. I once downloaded 50 MILLION and now just pick whatever goes. I should really pick just a few though cos it gets way complicated.

Hahaha yes the Stormtrooper size was a challenge. I didn't think too much about it but you can see originally the spine was bent but I didn't really like it so I just went with it being straight despite it looking weird. I re-did the hand about 3 times trying to make it fit and yeah still wasn't totally happy either. Was a bit difficult to realise how he would hold up the head. Maybe should be grabbing the spinal cord instead?? I might change it. Problem is when it's 2am in the morn and you kinda just 'get it finished' and then my mind goes onto... what's next! I see every painting has room for improvement so I'll probably just leave it so I can start a new one with a fresh mind and fix up these kind of errors. Thanks for your constructive feedback! I genuinely appreciate it

With regards to my eyesight. I'm red/green colourblind but sometimes that means nothing cos I wore a shirt I thought was a light blue for about 5 years before my wife told me it was purple. I refer to it as 'colour dumb' because I can see colour but sometimes have no idea what it is so I try to use colour charts and pick from them. Sometimes I use the eyedropper though and then I truly have no idea what the colour has become.

Thankyou @doitvoluntarily I appreciate your comment :)

Wooow that Ewok is more dangerous than Scorpion! Hahaha! Great work!

Thanks @blancokarl. Yeah MK was definitely an inspiration for this artwork 😃

This post has received a 0.05 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

adorable, not sure if that was the intent and I know he's holding a bloody storm trooper head, but c'mon I wanna pinch his cheeks! :) Following now too.

Hahahaha yeah Ewoks could get away with anything and we'd still love em! Thanks for your comment and follow @donnadavisart. I checked out your blog and really love your art! Following you now too 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 59051.02
ETH 2508.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44