'Michonne' The Walking Dead - with tutorial

in #cartoon7 years ago (edited)

Here's a cartoon version of Michonne I did last year. One of the few I actually saved in layers so I can show the process 😊 I really love this style of art, being cartoony and fun, and should do it more often.

Michonne.jpg


I start with a very rough sketch. This usually takes just a few minutes cos it's more about just developing an overall picture of what the image may end up as. This is the stage where I normally give up and just play video games cos it's easier lol.
Michonne 1.jpg


I add the background and start to see for myself if maybe the image has potential. Obviously blood red for Michonne using random brushes and some smudge.
Michonne 2.jpg


I lighten the rough sketch and do a solid outline over the top. I do enjoy creating cartoon type characters and this is my favourite stage.
Michonne 3.jpg


Here's where it all starts coming together and I gain a bit of self confidence if I can see it might end up ok. I do the base colours underneath the outline and start to think about where the shadows will go.
Michonne 4.jpg


Add the shadows and any other changes I feel it needs. I generally don't share my work so by now if I'm happy then I'll save it to the depths of my hard drive and have a celebratory coffee.
Michonne 5.jpg


Lastly I add a white 'keyline'. I got this technique from being a graffiti artist and generally you'll find most graff artists will add a white keyline to make the lettering pop.
Michonne.jpg

All done! If you have any questions or maybe have something in mind you'd like to see digitally painted, let me know in the comments as it's always good to get ideas and work out of my comfort zone.



Sort:  

that was cool... but her sword is longer than that probably.... you could add some zombies around or some heads around her..... that would have been great

Thanks @masummim50 for your constructive feedback. I plan to draw more cartoons and will keep in mind the details like this. Thanks for your comment 😊

Look at those guns!! Haha. Mate your artwork is great. When I become flush (dont hold your breathe) with cash I am commissioning you!!!

Hahaha thanks man. I'm not that great, still a white belt in my eyes. Lots of practice but keeping it fun :) Going to do another one now. Hmmm.... thinking EWOK!

awsome! You have some mad skills!

Thanks @mitchhunter, much appreciated :)

Thankyou for your comment 😊 @alamgirl1001

I love your content! Thats a talent right here. Keep up great work!

Thanks @bloggerslife. I'm grateful you enjoy my content as I really enjoy creating it 😊

Wow,I love this! Great work! And fascinating to see the process behind it.

Thanks @shawndove! I'll do the process as often as I can for sure. I'm sure it can help people break down what looks complicated into something more manageable. Stay tuned for more 😊

What an interesting style you have. The messy red brush strokes in the background really complete the piece. Thanks for posting!

Thanks @jamesartville. The messy red part was really fun to do. Zero thought, just blood everywhere lol. I like your blog so now following :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @spaceginger to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by SpaceGinger from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57690.80
ETH 2449.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33