You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 6 Majors Way More Worthless Than Your English Degree (Comedy Open Mic Round # 28)

in #comedyopenmic6 years ago

I ended up with a French Degree. I've found that a French degree ranks among the most useless degrees one can have.

The reason I have a French Degree is quite amusing.

I was lucky. Somehow I aced the PSAT and SAT and got a full scholarship to the school of my choice. I went to an expensive school.

Reagan changed the scholarship program so that it was means tested. My father's employer went bankrupt in my sophomore year. They paid off his pension at half value and gave him severance pay. This brought his income to $102,000.

Because my father lost his job, I was means tested out of my scholarship.

I borrowed to pay for my junior year and even got through the first half of my senior year, but I couldn't pay for that last quarter.

I believe that everyone should learn another language. During college I took a French class each quarter.

I later enrolled at the University of Utah. The U transferred my math and science classes as lower division credits. They transferred my language classes as upper division credits.

The math department said I could join their Masters program if I had any undergraduate degree.

This is the funny part: I went to the language department. The people in the language department noticed that I had completed most of the upper division classes for a degree but had no lower division classes; So, they told me that if I took two years of Spanish I could get a French degree.

Who can pass up an opportunity like that? So, I took two years of Spanish and got a French degree.

Voila.

Sort:  

🤦‍♂️ that is incredible. Truth is stranger than fiction. Bureaucracy for the win!

So what did you go on to do after you (presumably) got a graduate degree in math?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59281.33
ETH 2982.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74