Hobbies for Masochists - Comedy Open Mic Round 6

in #comedyopenmic6 years ago (edited)

When I think of masochistic hobbies, I imagine things like martial arts. Granted, you learn to kick people’s asses. But you have to absorb a mandatory amount of kickings in the process. You spend money on a nifty outfit and a club membership, and maybe even on entry fees for competitions. All to get your ass kicked.

Another perfect example is a sport we call ijsberen in Belgium. Sort of translates to polarbearing. But what IS this polarbearing? Well, in short, people take swims in open water. In winter. When it’s cold. Yup. Why they do this is beyond me, but it must be fun. Forgive me for not trying it out, though.

Then, this weekend, it hit me.

My hubs and I had planned to take our dogs to a dog agility trial. We were heading out in the caravan the night before. D was going to compete with our two dogs while I helped out in the trial office, processing results and keeping a tight rein on a trial with almost three hundred teams competing.

FB_IMG_1494103830127.jpg

Come bedtime, I realised something. Goddamnit, March is too fucking cold to go camping. Even in a caravan. As I lay in bed, shivering underneath three blankets, dogs piled around me for warmth, I was about to set an alarm for the next morning and another thing hit me.

That was the night Europe would switch to daylight savings time. One less hour of sleep. And I was expected at the trial office at 7am. Fuck me.

Apparently, an asskicking is not required for masochistic hobbies after all.

The next morning, a cold wet nose burrows its way under my blankets to poke me in the eye. At least fifteen minutes before my alarm. I jump up and crack my skull against the rock-hard dog skull the size of a watermelon. “Goddamnit, Liam! Get your head out of my face.”

20180326_193055.jpg

Liam, the wolfdog who never obliges my kind requests, replies by slathering his tongue across my face and I barely manage to close my mouth in time. At least his tongue is warm. But I don't want to think about where it's been before touching my face.

I close my eyes and count to ten. Maybe if I play dead, they'll leave me alone. Behind Liam, Lucie starts to bark.

After ten minutes of chattering teeth while getting dressed as fast as I can, my toothbrush and I race for the trial office with its promises of warmth and caffeine and food.

So there I am the next morning. At the trial office. At seven o’clock in the damn morning. The first people walk in to register for the day and I want to throw my coffee at each perky smile. Good thing I like my coffee too much.

The day passes in a flurry of running times and scores and rankings, and coffee. Lots of coffee.

FB_IMG_1494104455277.jpg

After the prizes are handed out, my friend Erna and I look at each other across the war zone the office has become. I hold out my fist to her. “Thank God that's over.”

She bumps it with her own. “I hear ya, hon. Why do we keep doing this to ourselves anyway?”

“Beats me.” I shrug. “Normal people just walk their dogs.”

She snorts out a laugh. “Ain't that the truth.” She sighs and picks up her empty coffee mug. “See you at trial next week?”

“Damn right.”




Oh my Goddess. I think I just posted a Comedy Openmic Entry. First time for everything, right?

I nominate @alheath and @therosepatch. ;-) Good luck and good laughs, ladies.

Hugs

Tiny

Disclaimer: Photos are my own, or provided to me by friends with permission to use them.




Witness banner.jpg



The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

As someone who is not a morning person, I admire your ability to be that functional at 7AM.

Thanks for the nomination! Now to think of a funny to write.

We bought the caravan just to be able to camp out at the trial grounds so we can sleep longer on trial day. XD

I don't blame you. Why waste precious sleeping time on travelling?


A cowboy was taken prisoner by a bunch of angry Indians. They were all prepared to kill him but their Chief declared that since they were celebrating the Great Spirit, they would grant the cowboy three wishes before he killing him. The cowboy can do nothing, but obey them.
The Chief comes up to him and asks:

  • What do you want for your first wish?
  • I want talk to my horse, - replies the cowboy.
    The Chief allows him to talk to the horse. The cowboy whispers in its ear. The horse neighs, rears back, and takes off at full speed. About an hour later, the horse comes back with a naked lady on its back. Well, the Indians are very impressed, so they let the cowboy use one of their teepees. A little while later, the cowboy stumbles out of the teepee, tucking in his shirt.
    The Chief asks him once again:
  • What do you want for your second wish?
  • I want to talk to my horse, - once again replies the cowboy.
    Again, the cowboy whispers in the horse’s ear. The horse neighs, rears back, and takes off at full speed. About an hour later, the horse comes back with another naked lady on its back. Well, the Indians are very impressed indeed. So, once again, they let the cowboy use one of their teepees. The cowboy stumbles out a little while later.
    The chief comes up to the cowboy and asks:
  • So, what do you want for your last third wish?
  • I want to talk to my horse, - for the third time replies the cowboy.
    He grabs the horse by the ears and yells @ it:
  • You stupid animal, I said POSSE, POSSE not PUSSY!!!

The next morning, a cold wet nose burrows its way under my blankets to poke me in the eye. At least fifteen minutes before my alarm. I jump up and crack my skull against the rock-hard dog skull the size of a watermelon. “Goddamnit, Liam! Get your head out of my face.”

Haha, the same way toddlers wake their parents. I really enjoyed your entry, you write so well. Thank you for making me laugh on this rainy, dreary day.

At least my dogs don't ask for an allowance. ;-)

Haha, that's very true.

Wait so there's a 7am now! God damn liberals and their MTV media are ruining this country and maybe other countries too. With their booping and their boping and a warm bam things.

Sorry got distracted I'm not entirely sure how to talk to dog people I tried barking at one once but they didn't understand.

Welcome to COM happy that you've joined us. Hope to see many more entries from you.

Maybe I can teach you some tricks in my next entry. XD

I'm always willing to learn.

I laughed too hard with this. Could feel Liam's nose and the slobber. Why do you do this?! It's insanity, hahaha.

Well some parts of it are fun, I guess.

Oh, that is a fun post, @tinypaleokitchen.

“Normal people just walk their dogs.”

True, but you don't aspire to be normal, right?

I really enjoyed reading this. And I love "Oh my Goddess." I have not heard that one before! Hugs.

I don't think I'm capable of normal if I wanted to, @jayna.

I feel your pain and I am with ya... as someone who barely gets any sleep, it doesn't take much to get my ass kicked. I just got a camper last week that I have to restore, so I look forward to similar experiences.

A word of advice: pets make excellent blankets. Unless up have a goldfish...

It's so funny you mentioned polarbearing, I used to do that once a year :P

Oh wow, Caleb I didn't know you were a masochist too.

I think it takes some degree of masochism to be a writer :P

Haaaaha! This is so spot-on. And that's what makes it funny as hell. I know all about those tongues and not wanting to know where they've been. LOLOL!

I knew you'd know the feeling. Hugs

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 25 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 8 SBD worth and should receive 43 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63010.40
ETH 3137.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85