I Am Not A Financial Advisor - (NCFITDSWCDS) :: Comedy Open Mic Round 19

in #comedyopenmic6 years ago (edited)


As I watch my financial empire collapse and my crypto portfolio crumble, I’m continuing to post on steemit in order to earn more of this incredible disappearing fake money. If nothing else, it’s something to do in between installing new toilets (see my post from earlier this week) which will give me a more comfortable place to sit as I watch my portfolio drop into the toilet while I also drop things into the toilet.

I’m afraid to go back and tally up the amount of fiat currency I’ve stuffed into crypto’s gaping maw. I don’t want to know. FIAT probably means ‘flush it away today’, because that’s what I’ve been doing.

This is probably what it’s like working at a buffet restaurant. You keep putting food out on the table, and these big fiat-eating hogs come up and chow down on your cash, leaving you with a few crumbs and an empty soul.

That’s crypto.

Anyway, I’ve wondered what else I could have done with my money instead of buying invisible disappearing bits. Here are my top five well-performing Non-Crypto FIAT Investments That Didn’t Suck While Crypto Did Suck (NCFITDSWCDS, for short).

Non-Crypto FIAT Investments That Didn’t Suck While Crypto Did Suck


1 - Fantasy sports: Yes, fantasy sports is a great investment, despite what my wife keeps yelling at me. I’ve invested less money into fantasy sports than I ever have in crypto, and have more profit to show for it over the years. Plus I get to watch sports. And drink beer.

2 - Toilet paper: The most useful substance on earth is toilet paper. Have you ever heard someone regret buying toilet paper? Mostly never. I like to stock up and buy a couple months worth at once (it’s a bad day when you run out of toilet paper, trust me), but I could have spent a suitcase full of fiat on a garage full of toilet paper a year ago, and I’d still be happily using it today. Except if I had bought Scott brand toilet paper. Have you ever used that stuff? It’s unhealthy for your anus. I’d regret that decision. Daily.

3 - Gas: (Or petrol, if you’re one of those kinds of people). I filled a couple 5 gallon containers last year, but if I had bought a tanker truck full of gas a year ago when gas was only kind-of-expensive instead of crazy-expensive, I’d be super happy with that investment right now. I’d drive around in my 9 MPG Landwhale motorhome slurping down that sweet 2017 fuel which cost me about $2.42, instead of paying $2.79 like all the suckers are today. I’d cruise around the neighborhood all day mocking everyone and showing off my wise fiduciary decisions.

4 - Beer: I should have stocked up on beer in the beer bear market. Granted, I bought a lot last year, but then I promptly drank my investments before letting them mature properly. Still, I should have bought more. That’s never a bad idea, right? And I’d be really popular right now if I had a house full of beer. A house full of beer and toilet paper. What could be better?

5 - Pigs: Oh, right. I should have bought a pig. Hell, I should have bought a dozen. If I bought some little pig babies a year ago, they’d be huge and fat and full of bacon right now, ready to be harvested. I definitely missed the pig window.

I am not a financial advisor, but this is really damn good advice.


In the tradition of Comedy Open Mic, I nominate @tanglebranch and @allforthegood to write up something funny.





Title image by @negativer using Canva.

Join us at The Writers Block on Discord. A great community of writers there, helping each other get better at what they enjoy doing.

Sort:  

I bought the complete Hogan's Heroes DVD series for 50 bucks. I'll be hodling those the rest of my life. ...if you're looking for a #6.

All good until we get to the year 2050 and nobody knows what a DVD is. You'll be sitting there with your stack of DVDs like I'm sitting here with a stack of LaserDiscs.

I may be prepared to sell my 80's cassette collection.
For the right price of course ^^
Peace.

Did you know that you have to feed pigs? I didn't. That turned out to be a poor investment on my part.

The good thing for you is that they will(probably) eat toilet paper and drink beer.

Considering what's happening in the inner suburbs around Melbourne at the moment, I'm considering stocking up on plaid shirts, for when the op shops run out of them.
Throw in a voucher for a almond milk, skinny latte, and I'd be set for life.
Peace.

Ha ha — Flush It Away Today. I love the toilet theme of this post.

Note: The Steemit know-it-all’s I know all say BUY now. 😊

Ah, the steemit know-it-alls. Not gonna name names, eh? :)

I kind of agree, now is a good time to buy.

Or not.

._.

It's a good beer market right now

HA HA HA.

._____.

The names have been changed to protect the innocent! 😊

This is some damn good financial advise here. I suggest you reinvest in a time machine, go back in time and buy a baby pig then zip back to the present and reap the benefit of your investment.

YES! This is the perfect use for a time machine.

Apart from the dead pigs, these all look solid.
Also, I am one of those people.
Also, I'd come to a house that was well stocked on toilet paper and beer.

You're a lady that has her priorities straight.

Funny! Yes, especially your comment about a pig. Me? I think chickens would be a good investment. I mean, you kill a pig and you get some bacon. But then it's done. You gotta start over. With a chicken, that thing just keeps pumping out eggs. Pigs=division. Chickens=multiplication.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54045.75
ETH 2247.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30