It Never Rains, but it Pours. - Comedy Open Mic Round #24

in #comedyopenmic6 years ago (edited)

When it rains it pours and this is shaping up to be one of those weeks!

Tuesday the internet went down and now that we're on this super advanced NBN (national broadband network) that means our landline’s out too. @realtreebivvy went online at work to try and find out what the deal was and couldn't discover any more than that our area had no internet. Thanks Dodo, that was informative! At least we know it's not something at our end.

Wednesday still no internet, so the water heater decided to raise it by adding no hot water with a side of peeing out water. RTB's morning shower certainly woke him up; talk about refreshing in the middle of winter!

DSC_0620.JPG

No internet means no comparing plumbers so back to the old fashioned way of checking the ads in the local paper and hoping you don't get a cowboy. I had to call them on my super expensive ‘pay as you go’ mobile (no landline remember), but thankfully I reached a message service and they could call me back for the longer chat. I'm going to need every penny I can hold onto after paying for a new boiler.

I cancelled plans for the morning because the plumber was going to come out between 11am and 1pm, so naturally he arrived at 2pm. I now have an efficient new gas boiler which will have to be wired in by an electrician who should come in the next couple of days. In the meantime we've got an extension cord running to it. Isn't progress great? Who needs an old fashioned boiler that keeps providing hot water even when the power goes out when you can have a better one that stops working with a power outage?

IMG_20180801_224629.jpg
Farewell old boiler.

NBN finally came back online about midday. Gee, I can't wait to find out how much more has advanced. Our internet has never been slower, our communications never so unreliable and our power outages never so frequent. Next power outage I can't wait for a cold shower!

~○♤○~

I'd like to nominate @empress-eremmy and @o07life to try and spread a little humour or maybe sarcasm.

Sort:  

I feel you, monday it took me nearly an hour to upload a picture and I nearly lost it. As for that many power outages, it's too much! Even by third World countries standards(lately at least). lol Also lucky me I only take cold showers so that's a plus when they do happen. lol

Prays he's not jinxing anything :)

Hi minismallholding,

Thank you for your entry in to #comedyopenmic comedy contest. We have asked the judges below to review your entry and give it a funny rating, this will determine your ultimate position when the results are tallied.

Judges:

If you have any questions or quieries please feel free to contact one of the judges or come say hi in discord: Click Here

Click To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

oh man... thats rough. well at least the plumber didnt have an affair with your wife.

Lol! Not sure how that would work seeing as I am the wife! The plumber seemed nice enough, but I dont have the energy for that sort of thing.

We've been lucky, but I remember our hot water heater blowing up and soaking everything on a Friday evening. I had to go buy one from the hardware store and install it myself.

It was natural gas, so I had to get experienced at pipefitting in a closet. It took a couple of days, but we had hot showers by Sunday after seven trips to the hardware store for different parts that kept popping up.

There was a time when we'd have had to do something similar, because we lived paycheck to paycheck. Thankfully I try to have something put aside for these things now. This cleared us out though, so hopefully the next thing will wait until I've built the savings back up a bit!

Know all about the constant trips to the hardware store! You think you've finally got everything and discover something else you need! Then they moved our local hardware store further away...

Haha the good thing is you posted this only once and not twice because of your slow Internet.

I've done that before!

Hello minismallholding!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72