Steemit User Who Forgot Memo Key: "My Life is Over."

in #comedyopenmic7 years ago (edited)

Have you ever experienced a trauma so intense that your bowels unintentionally released and everyone in your life remembers that day as "The nightmare when our friend's bowels unintentionally released."

A local man recently suffered through a Steemit user's worst nightmare, when he woke up this morning and realized that he had completely forgotten his Steemit Memo Key.

“Picture the most awful moment in your life and then imagine also being hit square in the face with a monorail train at the exact same time” said Todd, the heartbroken man, who asked that we withhold his last name, and who is known on Steemit as @onsteemit4damemos. “Last year, I was browsing /r/WatchPeopleDie and stumbled upon a video of my father getting repeatedly stabbed in the pancreas by twelve machete-wielding Brazilian street gangsters tweaking on meth. That was bad. This though...this is the genocide of my happiness.”

Asked whether it was potentially offensive to compare losing a website password to brutal killings and murderous ethnic cleansing of entire population groups, the distraught man vomited and looked into our eyes with the distraught look of a man that had stared into the eternal nothingness of our meaningless existence.

“Are you not understanding?" asked Todd. "It was my memo key!”

despair-513529_640.jpgPhoto by Gerd Altmann

Steemit, a decentralized social media platform intended to provide a forum for people who wish to open a Steemit account to complain about Steemit, provides each account holder a number of “keys” which must be used in order to perform various essential actions on the platform.

The “Posting” Key is used as a means of getting the attention of the wealthiest Steemit feudal lords--known platform wide as “Blubber Filled Devolved Water Cows”--in the hopes of becoming their vassal in exchange for a pittance from the Blow-holed Class member's portion of a pool of cryptocurrency that has not yet been carnally defiled.

The “Active” Key is used solely for purchasing votes from robots.

The “Owner Key” can be compared to a Steemit User’s “brand” or “tagline,” and is meant to be posted at the end of every post made on Steemit, Twitter, or the local Townhall bulletin board, so that everyone will be aware that this key is attached to that particular Steemit User and their Account.See Important Note at Bottom of Post

And then there is the Memo Key--the most important of them all.

“I remember and have backups of all of my other Steemit Keys. Except for my Memo Key. And my Memo Key is everything” Todd said. “But now it’s gone forever--and so is my world.”

Todd woke up this morning with a loving, devoted wife of over twenty-three years, and with whom he'd barely ever had a disagreement, let alone a fight.

But only two hours after telling her that he'd forgotten his Memo Key, Todd’s wife had left him for another man who she married shortly thereafter, this afternoon. She is now expected to give birth to her new husband’s baby in less than a week.

“And that's not even the worst part of forgetting my Memo Key," said Todd. "Earlier today, my son was in his last year at Harvard Medical School. I just found out that as of about twenty minutes ago, he had dropped out of school and gone on tour as the spoon-and-washboard player for an experimental jam band...And he's now addicted to horse tranquilizers.”

With his life in shambles, Todd is doing the only thing he can think of to survive.

“I’ve started to Power Down my SP. I have no idea what the future holds.”

As of press time Todd’s wallet contains 5,432,486.94 STEEM POWER.

This has been an entry for Comedy Open Mic Round 3. Please accept this fact, notwithstanding the extreme seriousness of Todd's predicament. There is nothing "comedic" about one's child joining a jam band. A person can't come back from that.

IMPORTANT NOTE:

DO NOT ACTUALLY PUT YOUR OWNER KEY ONLINE ANYWHERE! DO NOT PUT YOUR OWNER KEY ON YOUR STEEMIT POSTS OR STEEMIT COMMENTS. DO NOT PUT YOUR OWNER KEY ON TWITTER. DO NOT PUT YOUR OWNER KEY ON TOWNHALL BULLETIN BOARDS. NEVER PUBLICIZE ANY OF YOUR STEEMIT OR STEEM RELATED KEYS TO ANYONE!

IF YOU NEEDED THIS REMINDER, PLEASE ALSO BE REMINDED NOT TO PLACE YOUR GENITALS INTO AN INDUSTRIAL WOOD-CHIPPER.

Sort:  

Please nominate 2 people to enter the #comedyopenmic contest

Happy to!

@bethwheatcraft - She makes funny videos and beautiful music anyway. This is basically her contest to lose. It hurts any chance I have of winning if she enters because anytime I say anything interesting, she always happens to have something interestinger to say (that's right...you can't do anything about me using a superlative suffix with "interesting"...just sit back and enjoy it).

@outsidethevox - This is cheating because it's pretty much just @bethwheatcraft. I just really think she would be a good person to be involved with our (s)crappy comedy project.

You saucy minx you. I did enter. And I laughed heartily at this post. I could feel the reverberations of laughter all the way down into my cold dead heart. So thanks for that. Leaves to go bitch about Steemit.

Thanks. In case you're wondering. I will upvote your post but only after I read it.

There wasn't any doubt in my mind you would. I wouldn't want you to up-vote it without reading it. That would make me feel dirty

I've Reddit now. Up until the warning I was prepared to give you 100% now I have to ease off it. I would have preferred to watch your influence grow as more n more people started posting owners keys...

Sigh...

this was hilarious.
keep it up man.

Dammit @ilt-yodith, you've just interrupted my winning streak of god-help-steemit posts with good humor. Why did you have to do this?

This started off really shitty and then got better.

I'll write a memo for myself to have this voted highly. Actually, I'll just make a mental note. Remind me in a few days. I gather that horse tranquilizers are the key to such witty/snarky writing... What farm do you get your supply from? Thanks for entering. This was very clever.

If I had 5 million+ SP I think I could survive my child joining a jam band. In fact, considering my oldest child's interests I think someone should transfer 5 million SP to me because it is extremely likely he will join a jam band at some point.

22365439_10214380974657243_5587464836039395260_n.jpg

This is gold right here in words and a sure winner!
Would resteem it 💯 if the important note is omitted.
I'm evil like that.

I'm literally speechless that I have not read any of your posts since the comedyopenmic contest. This is an absolutely incredible piece of satire! Wish I could upvote this more. Great piece!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60836.32
ETH 2449.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65