Comedy Open Mic: Round #10. Entry 1

in #comedyopenmic6 years ago (edited)

holy steem.jpg
Oil on Canvas. 21" Long by 42" Tall.

The caption on my blog page promises “Humor, Stories, and Art.” Therefore, it is only fair that I take a few moments to post and write about a piece of art from time to time.

Now that I’ve accomplished that, let me tell you why my wife and I are preparing our house for sale so we can move into the deep northern wilderness.

I live in Minnesota. At the moment, we reside in a suburb on the edge of Minneapolis. From the alleyway alongside our garage, the lit and thawing skyline of the city glows in the far distance. It might be considered a benefit. However, we are sick of the noise, our neighbor’s trash tumble-weeding through our yard, and the ever-present fear that the housing market will collapse once more and we will be stuck with a decaying 1950’s era money pit.

I know what you might be thinking. What about wild and aggressive animals, ticks, winter desolation, lack of dependable services, slow emergency response times, fear, loneliness, a lack of culture, idiots with guns, awful television options, rotten and brutal school systems, illiterate neighbors, lack of food choices, dullness, early days and late nights simply to make ends meet, feelings of helplessness, people stating their political opinions for no reason in casual conversation, mud and muck, irritating skin conditions caused by the water source, the constant threat of alcoholism, and so on? And you are right. Once we get into the woods and away from these big city problems, I predict my mood will improve and the art will once again flow.

Until then, you poor bastards are just going to have to live with my humor.

Thank you for reading.

This week, I nominate @edwinbeutti and @arindammroy; both of whom are on the hot, hot, HOT section in the humor column. Submit an entry, meet some folks, and win yourself some Steem. Thank you.

Sort:  

Sorry to hear about the noise. I wonder how it compares to Chicago or other places that may be noisy. My step father does real estate and it has been tougher for him the past few years. I'm from Oregon and grew up in a small 20K apx. population city. I do like comedy.

Thanks. We live near a train yard and two highways. It isn't so bad though. I exaggerate some for humor. If you like comedy, have you put an entry into this contest? As long as it is an original work, the people here can be pretty supportive. Nothing to lose.

I may submit something in the name of comedy. As long as I on't collude with myself or something. Interesting.

Poor suburban living! Tip!

Hi @acolucky! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @improv!

@improv wrote lately about: Dude -5Minutefreewrite Feel free to follow @improv if you like it :)

@tipU is looking for SP delegators: pays out 100% of profit to all investors - more info here.

Loading...

Ohhhh this sucksss, I just saw that you mentioned me in your blog post mate. I just opened SteemWorld for the very first time, if I can still participate, I would gladly!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53801.93
ETH 2252.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26