My first Second City Show and why EVERYONE should do an Improv class

in #comedy6 years ago

My Second City Conservatory Class!

IMG_8637.JPG

I made a Dtube Video a few weeks ago when I was accepted into the Second City Conservatory training program that I auditions for and last night we had our first lil' show!

It was such a blast. It'a bit of a blur because it all happens so fast but I think for only a few weeks of improvising as a group we did a great job and are starting to build an awesome ensemble.

I am loving the skills I'm developing as a performer and the time to practice the art of failure in a safe, low risk environment. I can feel how it's truly affecting the rest of my life and the way I approach my work and life outside of the class.

I think everyone should do an improv class and here's why;

1. Connection: It's easy to get trapped in our own bubbles and isolate ourselves from people we wouldn't normally meet. Comfort zones, daily routines and habits can keep us only meeting/collaborating with certain types of people. Improv is for everyone and you get to learn in action from so many different people who have different lived experiences than you.

2. Failure: There is so much content out there related to WHY Failure is important. If it's so important why don't we practice it? Because it's painful and vulnerable OF COURSE! As an actor I don't want to mess up my lines or miss an entrance but as an improviser you are failing and learning how to pick up the pieces and carry on telling a story in every moment. This freedom is incredible and the practice of failure doesn't necessarily make it easier but it does make it less scary.

3. Why Not? When I wrote in the heading that I feel like people should do this....what was your response? Why not try it, what do you have to lose? Anytime I have a reaction that is a "No" I try to investigate it and see why it's a No. Sometimes it totally makes sense and sometimes it's my fear speaking. In Improv everything is "Yes, and..." The practice of that attitude in life can offer some interesting results and opportunities.

xo
K

Sort:  

so true. Its a fantastic way to meet people and shake up your comfort zone a bit. Great for confidence too. Ive done a fair bit of improv and run my own classes a few times as well. I even made some improv films last year! love it love it love it

Oooh I LOVE this post! I took an improv class once just for kicks and had such an amazing experience. Not that I was really interested in doing improv - but was just curious about it. It really showed me how much I was forming responses in my head instead of just staying present and listening to the other person. It was kind of eye opening for me.

That was about 8 years ago... maybe I'm due for another class! I actually think improv classes make a great corporate team bonding activity. I've been trying to talk my boss into having our team take an improv class together. haha It is just such a cool way to have learn how to communicate with those around you.

DO ITTTT!!!! Second City does corporate trainings and everything so I'm sure lots of other people do too.
Can't wait to hear about Steemfest! Suhhhh jealous xoxo

awww you would have LOVED it!! So many cool people. You'll definitely have to make Steemfest 4 if you can!

There is actually an improv school around here that does corporate trainings.

Ryan Styles from Whose Line is it Anyway actually lives in Bellingham and he owns an improv school/venue. It's soooo fun to go see him perform! You never know when he's going to show up. It's actually really sweet because Thursday nights the shows are half price because it's newer actors on the stage. That's usually the nights he pops in. He does that on purpose and so tons of people go on Thursdays in hopes of seeing him. It totally helps the newbs have a good crowd. I've met him quite a few times and he's a suuuuper nice guy.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

very excited for the new opportunities for you!

thank youuuu always for the support xo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64222.70
ETH 2651.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77