You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ron White (Netflix stand-up) - Not for the easily offended, but really funny stuff

in #comedy5 years ago

I remember when the blue collar comedy guys first came out. It was Jeff Foxworthy, Ron White, Bill Engvall and Larry the Cable Guy. Larry was pretty annoying to me at the time, but I feel the other three stand pretty well on their own. Jeff's "you might be a redneck if" and Engvall's "here's your sign" have become pretty classic. If I never hear "git er done" again I will be fine! :) I think these guys including Ron White did a really good job of claiming the stereotypes of Southern Hillbillies and owning them. I don't know if anyone else could have pulled it off. Kind of like when a black person makes jokes about black people. You couldn't just have any white guy off the street telling those jokes.

Sort:  

i feel the same way about Larry the Cable Guy, he was funny but yeah, it got old pretty fast. I remember when he was in a couple of movies that bombed and now i think he does some sort of travel show for Discovery or something.

Ron White said in this special that Jeff Foxworthy outsold Bill Cosby and Richard Pryor combined. I found that pretty amazing because comedy records and tapes sold extremely well back in the day. I knew Jeff had hit the big time, but I didn't realize he made it that big. Someone will probably find the fact that Ron Said that to be racist. Actually, it is almost certainly already happened :P

Wow, those have to be some impressive numbers. Between the four of them my favorites are bill and ron. You should check out Bill Engvall if you havent seen him.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.032
BTC 60972.25
ETH 2632.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57