Column: Anna ( #4)

in #column8 years ago

Anna (34)
Divorced and no kids.
Works in a little gift shop.
Just moved into her new apartment. 


Friday evening.
Lucky for me I got my senses back before I went to the coffee shop to meet Jack. I was changing outfit after outfit like a stupid fool because I was convinced that Jack wanted to meet me for something else than talk about the car accident I caused. While looking into the mirror in my bedroom I realized what I fool I can be. I changed my outfit one last time, from a red dress with high heels to my comfortable jeans, boots and black sweater. I think dreaming about a good life with love and hope made me go to far and closed my eyes for the real life that I am living right now. Newly divorced and single for the rest of my life. 


I made it to the coffee shop on time and got there before Jack. I ordered myself a coffee and was starring outside the window when he walked in and sat down at my table. While his voice still made me shiver in a way I never felt before I did not blush. I knew that this was purely to speak about the damage on his car when he placed the papers onto the table. The talk was short but intense and I promised to pay for the damage I caused. Jack seemed to be distracted and he only spoke about the cars and how I could pay for it. We drank our coffees and ordered both 2 more before he got up and we shook hands. With a few nice words he left the coffee shop and I knew that I would never see him again. I am going to transfer the money after he sends me the email with the costs and we exchanged phone numbers just in case. I did not even really saved his number in my phone, I just a made a note that I can remove in a few days. The dreaming was better but the truth that I never had a chance and the fact that I will never see him again woke me up even more. He was short with his words, cool in a way and not at all caring like he was on the day I bumped my car into his.


The rest of the day I spend on my couch watching Netflix while eating a bag of salted chips and drinking a whole bottle of red wine. I was getting ready to go to bed at my ten when my phone started to beep. I always get annoyed when people contact me late in the evening. I believe it’s because of Paul. He is the one, well most of the time, who gets weird in the head in the late hours and starts to stalk me like a maniac. But something told me to have a look at my screen. With a deep sigh I picked it up and felt my heart race the more words I read. 


“"Dear Anna, I was a jerk today! I don’t care about the damage on my car. The moment I saw you you the day you parked your car into mine my heart stopped and all I could do was think about you the rest of the day. I wanted to say so many things, do so much more than talk about the damage today but my nervousness turned me into a fool. Coffee tomorrow? Same time and place?” X Jack"




 Disclaimer: Anna is a fictional column written by @poeticsnake only to be posted on Steemit! The cover is my own work!  

Sort:  

Bravo! Excellent post @ poeticsnake, really beautiful, congratulations for this wonderful work

Thank you so so much!

The post photo of the day was dedicated to you @poeticsnake in thanks for making a beautiful work inspired by an image of my land
https://steemit.com/life/@jlufer/the-photo-of-the-day-thanks-to-poeticsnake

oohh wow that is really cool! Thank you so so much :D

Lovely story telling! Where are 1, 2, and 3? I missed them.

They all have the same picture and are on my wall! I posted one Monday and the other two last week! Thank you so much!

Aww. Jack is a jerk, but a sweet one. LOL
This made me smile :)

The sweeter the better! I wonder what will happen next!

Wooah its so nice i felt like im dreaming with it while reading. Go on i guess i have to follow the story. It felt good and exciting!

Thank you for your kind words! Push the follow button and you will never miss one! Anna appears twice a week! :d

I've just found and read them. Each episode is so well weighted. I've been following @poeticsnake for weeks, maybe even months, but work is busy these days and sometimes I don't get to check my feed for a while.

Thank you so much! You really make me blush here! If there is on thing I am always unsure about it's my writing! So reading your words really made my day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66057.55
ETH 2576.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65