Rainbow. Ring. 🌈 | how to make the imperfections of old lenses work for and not against you! |

in #colourfulphotography7 years ago (edited)

Rainbow. Ring.


Since I only use vintage camera glass in order to create some art, I do run into the inevitable technical short-comings of the past.📷
There have been a lot of improvements the last 30 years on how lenses are produced. Although most of them have an ugly plastic body, the optical parts are of the very high quality to counter natural occurring effects of bending light with glass. "problems", like chromatic/spherical aberration, are most likely something you want to stay the hell away from. The thing, however, is that with those most advanced technical improvements comes the price of having less creative ability in photography. 👌


clr.jpg

Amsterdam, central station square. with a 50mm pentacon lens at 2.8 on my Sony A7II


This shot, for instance, I took while waiting on the tram in down town Amsterdam. If I was not using an old (somewhat crappy) lens, I would not have gotten the amazing rainbow ring on the sensor, and therefore this shot would just be a super plain picture of the public transport here in Holland.💥🇳🇱
Utilizing the flaws of the glass you are carrying could lead to some great creations!

"get to know the imperfections of your gear, observe them, study them and apply them" 😍

This is just one simple example of how one could do just that!


PSX_20171229_160240-02.jpeg


As always thanks for your time, I hope you enjoyed this. Feedback is always appreciated!

"Emotions are there to be expressed, not to be suppressed and bottled up. I do photography in order to take my mind away from the dilemma's I encounter during my medical internships."

thi-js. Out.

Up-vote, re-steem and follow

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #colourfulphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Friday.

You have earned 5.80 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 2/5
Multiplier: 1.16
Server time: 21:27:15
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 378.04/400.00
Total Photos: 33
Total comments: 55
Total contest wins: 5
And have also received a 0.44 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

amazing!!!

What exactly did make you feel like writing that kind thing :) ?


t.

The photo you took

Nice pic, I love it... go visit my blog, I'll w8 for u there

Wow, that's so awesome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.84
ETH 2636.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76