Dancing in the Streets, northern Thailand – Colourful Photography

 This is my entry in the Colourful Photography contest by @juliank.   

[Click Here to Enlarge Photo]

Last November, a friend and I passed through the town of Lamphun, in northern Thailand. With the standard temples, a riverside market, and various outdoor food stalls, it’s a typical Thai town.  

Coloured and choreographed … 

On that Sunday, however, much of the town was deserted, and there was little traffic on the streets. We soon learned that there was to be a celebration / festival of sorts in the large municipal park.

Prior to the start of the main attraction, many citizens from throughout the region would dance in the streets surrounding the park, in well-choreographed, colour-coordinated groups of dancers.   

… with a smile 

Before the dancing began, the performers spent hours practicing, preparing, and dressing up in brilliant traditional clothing. As this lady awaited the start of her group's performance, she was kind enough to strike a joyful pose for me – complete with a radiant smile.   

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #colourfulphotography

You have earned 6.00 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.20
Server time: 08:55:55
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 452.11/800.00
Total Photos: 48
Total comments: 92
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.42 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I've witnessed the Thai traditional dance when I was in Pattaya 2 years ago in the elephant village :) I remember I joined dancing with them haha :D

I also heard that in thailand there is monkey festival, or tattoo festival. Correct me if I am wrong hehe :D

Do you mean that you danced with elephants!?!?!? When I dance, people might think that I look like an elephant!!!!

There are probably monkey festivals, and maybe a tattoo festival. But I'm not interested in either of them. (Well, maybe monkeys ...)

heheh there was an entertainment show in the elephant village , the thai dancer wear their traditional costume, we were invited to dance too :D

Lucky monkey eating buffet meal in that festival then :))

Maybe they "invited" you so that you would supply a buffet dinner to the monkeys!!

hahah i wish i can supply them :D :P i haven't had an opportunity to touch monkey yet, i guess they are friendly

hi friend,..

Before the dancing began, the performers spent hours practicing, preparing, and dressing up in brilliant traditional clothing. As this lady awaited the start of her group's performance, she was kind enough to strike a joyful pose for me – complete with a radiant smile.

Excellent description, excellent photography, excellent photographer.

P.s: The lady is beautiful.

Nice picture and perfect shot for the woman at the back. I love her color combination

he friend,..

..loved the the way she smile sir @majes.tytyty,the photo is indeed full of colors and so is her smile,it brightens the photo and the viewers mood.
..I've noticed that in Thailand,dancers had that "gold,long accessories"on their finger tip.

Yes, every one of the female dancers had those long accessories. We tried to ask them what they signified, but they did not understand our questions.

And we would not have understood their answers, if they had provided any. :-(

..language barrier sir @majes.tytyty, those accessories made them look more graceful with their hand gestures when dancing and thats what interest me the most

What a paradox! A very creative way to say there was a deep language barrier between your party and the Thailand dancers @majes.tytyty

hi friend,..

Awesome photo and nice enetry for coloful photography vhallenge I wish you all the best for this great challenge Keep it up

wow this is definitely an entertaining show, happy to enjoy a great holiday, I usually if the day day like to find entertainment, if only this show is in my area I would be happy to watch this show

I feel the festivity. I commend those performers who keep their enthusiasm and gracefulness even when they are weary. They always have this sweet smile for the audience and its positivity is very contagious.

You look favourably attractive. What was the name of event u attended ?

We were told the name, but it was in Thai, and I could not remember it.

very cultural and colorful event.. lots of fun lol

beautiful picture

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45