Brilliant Banners for Song Kran New Year Celebrations – Colourful Photographyhttps://steemit.com/colourfulphotography/@majes.tytyty/brilliant-banners-for-song-kran-new-year-celebrations-colourful-photography#

in #colourfulphotography6 years ago (edited)

I came across these colorful banners that were brightening up the tree-lined moat that encircles old Chiang Mai.

[Click Here to Enlarge Photo]

Wild ‘n’ wet 

Last week, Thailand celebrated its Song Kran new year festival. Everyone everywhere dressed in flowery clothing, and those who wanted to have “fun” bought colorful plastic water pistols and water cannons, and proceeded to spray everyone with abandon. The 4-day celebrations were bright, lively, wild, and wet.    

Bright ‘n’ brilliant

After the celebrations ended, I could leave home without getting drenched, so I went for a long walk along the moat. The North Gate of the moat and several other plazas along the way were still bedecked with these bright banners. 

Even on that overcast day, the bright banners added a brilliant touch to the cityscape. 

This is my entry in @juliank’s Colourful Photography contest.

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #colourfulphotography

You have earned 5.90 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.18
Server time: 17:15:23
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 599.91/800.00
Total Photos: 73
Total comments: 92
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.90 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Nice flags @majes.tytyty, I wish you much success in your participation. With luck, one day I will be able to know that beautiful landscape. by the way, I love your username @majes.tytyty. Very Cool

Thanks for your comment and the compliment. My username is an anagram of my first name (jaMes), with the short form for "Thank You, Thank You, Thank You" added on.

Glad you like it! and ... "Thank You, Thank You, Thank You!"

In Cambodia Song Kran New Year Celebrations are completely dead in Phnom Penh. Siem Reap is where everybody goes, get wet and wild.
I see no religiosity in all this. Well, who am I to judge their way to celebrate.

Right. Traditionally, water was used during Song Kran as part of a purification ritual. Now, it's just used as an excuse to go wild. But who are we to judge?

Wow! great festival. This festival 'Song Kran' is very similar to 'Holi' festival of India in which people color each other, spray colored water, throw water on each other and dance and celebrate. Really these festivals are very warm and full of enjoyment.

Yes, I've also experienced Holi. These festivals can be wild and a lot of fun ... the first time, anyway. https://steemit.com/colourfulphotography/@majes.tytyty/colourfulphotography-holi-festival-of-colours-in-new-delhi-india

I visited your link above. Wow! Those photo was really amazing! I think Holi is not a festival of religion but a festival of fun and enjoyment. Thank you.

Very distinctive banners
It truly reflects the culture of a people and expresses the civilization of a people
Well done, my friend, I wish you all the best

Gteat post..
I like it this post...
I appreciaye your travel...best of luck

For the first time I hear about such a wonderful carnival. I think that 4 days - a lot. I think 1-2 times, on the 4th, everyone can already get bored. Good luck to you and Love.

Впервые слышу о таком замечательном карнавале. Я думаю, что 4 дня – много. Думаю, 1-2 самый раз, на 4-й всем уже может надоесть. Удачи Вам и Любви.

Great song Kran would like to be there next new year. good color capture

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how easy it is to get them or visit us on Discord

Hi. Nice to photography post. I like steemit bitcoin news about the same thing. Thanks for so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00