At The Duck House

in #colourfulphotography6 years ago (edited)


Totally Quackers


A visit to Brighton, Sussex wouldn't be complete without your seeing something that makes you roll you eyes and say "only in Brighton".

We are quite well known here for being a very colourful city full of quirky sights that you will not see anywhere else in the UK.

Duck House.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

There maybe other shops dedicated to rubber ducks in the world but this one caught my eye recently. It wasn't open at the time but I think you can get the idea from looking through the window. 😁

I'm amazed that there is enough money in rubber ducks so as to enable the shop owners to pay the extortionate rent that is due in this area of Brighton.

Duck House 2.jpg

Thank you to @juliank and @photocontests for the daily photography contest the theme of which today is colourful.


~ ~ ~ ~ ~


Sort:  

I have a friend that collects rubber ducks but she doesn't buy them. People just give them to her. I admit I have given her two. haha Once you have a collection, I guess the word gets out and they just start showing up lol

Not something I'd want to do at this point in my life. I'm all about clearing out rather than collecting. I have a long way to go though as you'll see from my post later today. 😁

That's very true! My friends used to look our for me all the time to add to my collection !

Now hold on here. When I see a subheading to a post that reads:

Totally Quakers

Even if the title of the post says:

At The Duck House

I somehow become more interested in seeing all the Quaker stuff, then I am to see all the ducks. Call me quazy. :)

That actually would have made Brighton the most quirky place on the planet had the shop actually been called Totally Quakers and been totally devoted to Quakers.

Okay, just looked up Quakers and apparently they're still around, so yep, a store all about Quakers would be awesome. I guess they don't stick out as much as they used to. Unlike the Amish and the Mennonite, they've decided to blend into society instead of standing out. Or at least that's what the Quaker FAQ says. :)

Ooops. Well spotted @glenalbrethsen. I'll have to go and put that right.

Brighton has a very busy Meeting House which, coincidentally is not too far from the Duck House. 😊

I've been to many different events there, including a Humanist funeral. It's a very peaceful have in the centre of Brighton and used for many things as well as regular Quaker Meetings.

Awwwww. Now it doesn't say Quakers anymore. Okay, I guess I'll be more interested in the rubber ducks. Being from Oregon, where the University of Oregon has a duck for their mascot, I am partial to ducks, at least the American college football kind. The real life ducks can be kind of mean spirited at times.

I suppose if you raise them from chicks and they interact with you on a regular basis, it wouldn't be so bad.

A humanist funeral, eh? Interesting. Can't say I've ever attended one of those. I generally stay away from them if I can. However, I can image it would help to add some diversity to the use of the Quaker meeting house.

This made me laugh!! Reality is often much weirder than my imagination.

Yeah. it's a little bit self-indulgent isn't it @bringolo. I prefer garden gnomes myself! 😂

Looks like a quacking good time :)

Ha, ha, ha @rentmoney. Well someone had to say it. 😁

Rubber duckies!!! I want them all!!

I had no idea so many people were so into rubber ducks @blacklux. That explains how the shop owners can afford the rent. 😊

OMG!! I used to have a collection of over 300, still got about 100 now ^_^

Noooooooooo! Where do you keep them all @livinguktaiwan? 😂

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-19T12:49:18
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 2437.59/3200.00
Total Photos: 308
Total comments: 328
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 1.65 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

There are a lot of ducks. I have only have a few. Nice to know.

Yep. I think they I read somewhere that they have over 900 different ducks in stock @fsfblender.

Thanks for stopping by. 😊

Oh my goodness, how cute is that.

Well, fun at least @sunscape! 😁

howdy there @gillianpearce! I want to go to Brighton, I love the sounds of that place! but I wonder how much those duckys cost?

I didn't notice the prices to be honest, @janton, as it's not something I'm ever likely to buy. I'm trying to declutter rather than add to it. 😁

it would have been interesting to add to the post though. I'll bare that in mind for similar future posts.

howdy today @gillianpearce! yes Ma'am well I think you owe it to your audience to buy one yourself an demonstrate how you play with it! lol. God bless you!

Nah. I'm too selfish to do something just for my audience @janton especially if it means spending money on clutter and bringing it into my home.

too selfish! ha! I don't believe that for a second. you'd give all Brits a bad name. what's a little clutter anyway? give stuff away to the grandkids.

A little clutter is something that turns into a lot of clutter @janton and I'm pretty sure the grandkids, nor their parents, would be interested in the clutter I've got. 😁

I'm enjoying my almost clear desk and am looking forward to getting rid of more of it before I run out of motivation.

it won't be this weekend though as we have the grandkids tomorrow and house guest all weekend.

I could get the grandkids on the paper shredding though. That's an idea! 😁

haha! you are one efficient professional @gillianpearce! I'm impressed with my new British friend. God bless you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47