Colourchallenge - Friday BlueSky - Well, Shit, Bourdain

Tuesday1.jpg

Well, Shit, Bourdain

Rest easy, my brother. Rest that soul.
Brothers and sisters in kitchens,
and front of house
Chefs, and Cooks,
Dishwashers, and Busboys
Waiters and Hosts

We lost a troubled soul and a shining light
Rest Easy, my brother. Rest that soul.

ironpagebreak.png

We worked together, he and I. It was thirty years ago, and, truth be told, I have very little memory of those days. Snippets, really. It was a different time and place. I don't remember him and I am sure, he doesn't remember me. BUt good friends that I trust, tell me, we all worked in the same kitchens and restaurants, in the same scene, in Provincetown and Truro, decades ago.

I do remember, in one of those distant places,
there were two pieces of music that ruled the late night closing:

The Who's Who Are You first song to play when the doors were locked.

and, The Moody Blues, Late Lament, after all the sidework was done and we sat and shared one, as a nod, to... winning one, against the onslaught.

...So, Tony, here's our Late Lament.

ironpagebreak.png

Breathe deep the gathering gloom,
Watch lights fade from every room.
Bedsitter people look back and lament,
Another day's useless energy spent.

Impassioned lovers wrestle as one,
Lonely man cries for love and has none.
New mother picks up and suckles her son,
Senior citizens wish they were young.

Cold hearted orb that rules the night,
Removes the colours from our sight.

Red is grey and yellow white.
But we decide which is right.
And which is an illusion?

-- Graham Edge, The Moody Blues

ironpagebreak.png

More of my ColourChallenge Series

Monday - Red
Tuesday - Orange
Wednesday - Yellow
Thursday - Green
Friday - BlueSky
Saturday - Indigo
Sunday - Purple

Geeky Camera Stuff:
Nikon d7000, 12mm, f2.8, 6.2 seconds.

thealliance_468x60.jpg

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Yah Bourdain, totally sad I agree. Nice shot man. Love the horizon lights nestled in bush.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66394.28
ETH 3309.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70