My bid for the redecoration of Kálvin station on line 4.

It's been quite a challenge kalemandra set us, this week!

I took up the challenge to stimulate my artistic juices and above all learn to use PS. First I lost a keyboard (to wear and tear), then I lost my work (after 3 days and nights) and almost threw in the towel. Then I got myself a Wacom Intuos tablet before my hand turned into a mouse-claw, and got my second wind back. Yep, I'm taking this very seriously! (I love learning something new! But boy, is it ever tough going on the old grey cells!)

My Story

First of all, I like the green line 4, which I have been studying hard the past week; its stainless steel, glass, and concrete lend a clean, spacious and modern feel. Above all its lighting gives wonderful shadow play and is very atmospheric in parts (on the photo, at least).

||

However,I can appreciate Kallemandra finds her Kálvin stop a little grey compared to the second one down from it, Szent Gellért station, with its white and bright platform decorated with pastel butterfly shapes to dream to. But here, too, there is one feature that all the stations seem to have and I with my wonky eyes am no fan of: blur effects!

The Process

  • So, my first task at Kálvin was to do away with those awful orbs. They made me terribly dizzy. I suggest a white wash with a hint of yellow or red.

  • Next, I was tempted to call upon the fabulous Hungarian illustrators to dot their work around the station. I tried calling in Gévai Csilla,Kinga Rofusz, Cecília Simony, Lilla Pájer, Kata Pap and Monika Egry, but it was too short notice for them all.

It could have looked like this if we had Kinga Rofusz for the job:

Then I lost 3 days work on a piece with an astrological theme that complemented a quote by André Gide - There are admirable potentialities in every human being. Believe in your strength and your youth. Learn to repeat endlessly to yourself, “It all depends on me.”

When I refound it 2 days later, I no longer liked it, but am continuing to work on it in my own time (to practice more with my Wacom.)

Frustrated by this, my learner stage on PS, I wanted to white wash the whole darn station in one sweep! And I became progressively more frustrated with the art already there: that illegible script on the back wall! It had to join the orbs and AWAY with it!

I decided we would use famous quotes in various scripts (I have used Futhark in the hall below the escalators). On the second bit of the station I worked on - for a fresh start - the script almost felt a bit too Big Brother, with its possibility to indoctrinate; but it's all positive! I would like to stimulate new ideas in the passengers, or provide consolation or general food for thought.

My Two Entries:

In the meantime, I had become in need of an ultra relaxing theme, so I went and looked for it in nature.
I figured, you spend the most time staring at the tracks waiting for the next train, and discovered the wall above it was, indeed, very drab and even depressing (London has some of its most expensive advertising on it).
I brought more space and light onto it.
I hope it now doesn’t form a hazzard! (with passengers wanting to walk out into these fields).

No 1.

No.2

I went back to my trauma location, at the escalators, and continued this nature theme, opting for bare, winter trees for a more introspective (calmer) mood.
I figure most people have enough on their minds (before or after work/school) and the rustling of a full canopy of leaves will only add to the noise in their heads.

Since one of the stipulations was use your own work, I can confirm that the photos, including the singular flowers, used in the montages are all my own, shot with a Canon EOS 550D.

Which station next?!

In the meantime, since I ran out of bandwidth (still don't know why) I finished my entry

No.3

I asked the children of Budapest to draw their star sign.... Only those who peer up high will be treated to the work of innocents...

It is now a race against the clock, with the deadline approaching fast, as I wait for more steam....

Sort:  

I love this! The astrological signs drawn by children are great :) It is too bad Kinga Rofusz wasn't available, that mockup with his illustrations actually is amazing. His style is very well suited for public transportation. My favorite of your entries is #1 with the singular flowers and the illusion of an open wall and field and trees beyond. That would really give such a nice feeling of space, and a calming vibe, to that station.

BTW, RE the bandwidth issue, that has been happening to users without a lot of SP. If it happens again to you reply to me in comment here and I will be happy to delegate you a small amount of Steem Power until this issue stops happening.

Here is article about bandwidth:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@carmalain7/why-you-have-no-bandwidth-if-you-re-a-new-steemian-like-me

Much love - Carl

I just went ahead and delegated you 40 SP. You should have plenty of bandwidth for normal interaction with Steem blockchain now. I think you are too much of a quality poster to have to wait for bandwidth before you can Steem :)

Much love - Carl

Last time you were cute. This time you are my God.
Your endorsement is steam in itself! What I appreciate even more than the very much appreciated whopping amount of SP, is that you clearly read the entire post!
I thank you for your time and sincere engagement.
This is the community spirit I've been hoping to encounter.

If anything, I can be your Alien :)

I'm sorry i've just found your entry! Just i can say this is a great and thorough work. I am particularly glad that you have eliminated those horrible mosaic orbs. Futhark writing is interesting, but we have our own runic alphabet :) The children's drawing makes me smile and cheer up, cool spot on the grey concrete.
Of course upvoted and resteemed!

Thank you, dear one! Fascinated to hear about your own runic alphabet, will check that out!

Do you know what it is called? And who introduced it? (Norse connections at all?) Where can I best learn more?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56688.84
ETH 2388.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28