From Aalen-Waldhausen to Lugano - Switzerland

in #colorfulphotography6 years ago (edited)

Looking back at my pictures I realize what I have left. A beautiful landscape, colorful and peaceful. Perfect for long walks or bicycle tours.

Waldhausen 004.jpg

Where did I move?

I moved to the canton of Ticino in Switzerland.

DSC00888.jpg

Or more specific: Lugano

Lugano lake.jpg

Lugano lake under clouds

Lugano under clouds.jpg

Did I face many challenges?

Yes of course, but not as much as to think to move back to Germany. Actually my challenges where so little that it's almost not worth mentioning it. But I will tell you anyway:

  • You work a lot, minimum: 42 hours, maximum: up to you (or your boss)
  • You have no time to spend your money
  • If you have the money and the time, you are so tired that you prefer relaxing
  • The supermarkets and malls close their doors during weekdays between 6 pm and 7 pm (Thursdays 9 pm), Saturdays 4 pm to 5 pm
  • If you think you can leave your house (or office) one hour before closing - forget it. Because of the traffic you arrive just in time to see how they close the doors
  • You pay for the parking (even for the supermarket parking lot), that is if you find a parking spot at all

What do I miss most?

The flat landscapes! Ticino has many hills that are perfect for hiking. However you basically walk either up or down the hill. Riding a bike? That is also a challenge for me. The hiking trails are sometimes so narrow that I doubt I would ever try to ride there with my mountain bike.

How are the Ticinese people?

Depends where you are from. If you are from the southern countries, like Italy or Spain, you might say they are cold and not friendly. As for me, I find them very helpful and friendly, but I grow up in Germany.

Tell me your story. Did you ever feel like leaving your country? Or did you leave and afterwards you couldn't deal with the challenges? What was your biggest challenge when you moved?

Sort:  

I enjoyed your summary of the good and bad, the positive and the negative.

Hi
http://www.aalen-waldhausen.de/ortschaft-waldhausen.274.htm

is just some km away where I live (Backnang). A very nice area. Not really comparable to Lugano - if I would have to choose I would take maybe Swiss.
But as you stated depend on your personal circumstances. I never lived in other countries but moved now >7 times in Germany and spent a lot of month' abroad in countries like Greek, Mexico and India. Honestly I always liked to go back t o my hometown (where I was not born). But I got really good memories of all the other countries I visited so far...

Hi, yes I know Backnang as I am from Schorndorf. If we would have stayed in the Stuttgarter area I probably wouldn’t have left Germany. I just didn’t like the Ostalbkreis and couldn’t wait to move southwards 🙂. I told myself if I move again then only abroad. Said, done! 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49