ColorChallenge: SaturdayIndigo - Chicory (photos taken by mobile phone)

in #colorchallenge7 years ago (edited)

Chicory (scientific name  Cichorium intybus L. ) in Ukraine is also called the whip of Peter. The plant received this name for its appearance, because the flowers of chicory grow on shoots 80-120 cm in length. Shepherds often cut off these shoots and beat the cattle so that it went in the right direction.

Цикорій в Україні ще називають Петровими батогами. Цю назву рослина отримала через свій зовнішній вигляд, адже квіти цикорію ростуть на пагонах завдовжки 80-120 см. Пастухи часто зривали їх і поганяли ними худобу.

Sort:  

Love them when they dot the highways with their brilliant blue flowers

Yes, it looks amazing!

nature is beautiful and you captured these photos even more beautifully ...
thanks for sharing such amazing color with
best of luck for #ColorChallenge

nice color! :)

Amazing flowers! Make the street a nice one

Yes, the roadside looks more beautiful when the flowers grow there

Beautiful pictures, following you now.

Thank you very much!

Your shoot is always great..Nothing to repeat again but it will be helpful to the beginner photographer like me if u add the capture info with the post.
Following u dear

Thank you! It's just a pictures on a mobile phone and not my best shots

That color is so pretty!
The bluest flower I have ever seen! :P

Oh, man. Those are a gorgeous shade of blue! Thanks for sharing these great shots!

You're welcome, my friend!

beautiful flowers!

thank you so much!

I recently gathered some chicory from Boulder, CO, but not as much as I wanted because most of it was close to the roadside. I'm drying the roots now to make a coffee substitute. :) The chicory I gathered had a softer almost purple color though... Hope to post about it soon, but I'm still quite new here and haven't had time to get my posts together yet. Thanks for posting, totally catches my interest. :)

Oh, I have never picked up the root of chicory in order to dry and make a drink from it, but we buy a ready-made powder from chicory, so I know the taste of this drink!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62