Colour Challenge - Indigo Saturday - Prize Winner and a Short History about Quadra Island May Day Celebration

in #colorchallenge7 years ago (edited)

IMG_0338 - Copy.JPG

"My" island, Quadra Island, population approximately 3,000 permanent residents, has celebrated May Day for over 100 years. The early pioneers started this tradition when they first arrived on the island. It was 1890’s when the first non-aboriginal settlers came to Valdez Island (Quadra Island) to log, fish and ranch.

My son has never missed a May Day celebration in his entire 30 years of life. He lives in the city now but returns to his community to connect with childhood friends and family friends every year. He received multiple ribbons over the years.

IMG_0315.JPG
My son and his partner.

mcr005557.jpg
Source: May Day celebration on Quadra Island, 1922

We still do the Maypole ribbon wrapping dance along with tug of war and races of all kinds for all ages. I especially enjoyed the married women against the unmarried. The married women usually win.

Everyone gets a boastful ribbon or two or three or more just for participating.

mcr006804.jpg
Source: Tug of War at Quadra Island May Day, 1955

mcr020205.jpg
Source: Quadra Island May Day

2015-05-23 11.12.45.jpg

2015-05-23 13.33.16.jpg

My son looking back for the photo. I think I yelled something funny like, "that's my boy!" It's part of the tradition. Tee hee.

I had the pleasure of working as the archival photographer and darkroom tech for 15 years at the Museum of Campbell River and Archives. I have copied, cataloged and smiled at many of these images first-hand.

Where is Quadra Island?

trulafountaine-2.png

ColorChallenge is hosted by @kalemandra

Sort:  

Hi @trulafountaine,
Congrats! Your post has been featured in The Daily Qurator #43. I hope you like it.

Your Quality Curator,
Dr. TLK :D

This is so cool. Thank you very much. I'll check it out right away. I'm thrilled!!!

You are very welcome. Glad to know you are thrilled :)

Congratulations @trulafountaine! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@cryptohustlin has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by TrulaFountaine from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

    To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

What a lovely walk down memory lane, plus present pictures @trulafountaine congrats for being featured on @qurator

Thank you! The feature was a nice surprise. Glad you liked the visit to my island. :)

This is an awesome post. For the color challenges you also need to put the day tag and call out @kalemandra so she can find you.

What a cool job you have!

Thanks for your kind words. I don't think there are tags for each day in this challenge. I haven't seen them used on other posts but perhaps @kalemandra can let me know if there is. I will add a call out to her if she wants it. I thought perhaps that would be overwhelming since she has a very popular challenge. I do appreciate your advice. Thanks again!

Yes, there are tags for the days :)
MondayRed
TuesdayOrange
WednesdayYellow
ThursdayGreen
FridaySkyblue
SaturdayIndigo
SundayPurple

Great, thank you! I haven't seen them used much in other posts but will definitely keep that in mind. In this case, I was reaching out to a variety of places like photography, history and canada etc. Sometimes I can only add 4 tags. Do you ever experience that? After the post has been submitted I can sometimes go back and add a fifth. I usually go to the feed for the tag and see 'new' and will find the posts for the day in chronological order.

No, I have not had that happen, but steemit is glitchy lately. You should always be able to have 5 tags and you can change all but the first in the time before payout.

If you look at any of kalemandra's posts for the challenges, she has banners for each day she will let you take. I think she checks for each day to see who to upvote and resteem, but I'm not sure.

Thanks again for reaching out. Yes, I see the tags now and will use them.

Tagging has been glitchy for me since I started in June. I wonder if it's my web browser, Chrome. It always tells me I have 5 when I only have 4. I can edit and add the fifth later. Oh, by the way, I always use the markdown editor. I wonder if that's where the issue is.

Maybe - I'm just here on steemit with all its troubles! I barely know what I'm doing to even get a post published!

I work in IT so I know how challenging it can be for the people supporting a growing community. I am very grateful to them.

@reported has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Congratz, your post has been read, approved and resteemed by a human!
pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

I don’t Spam… if you don’t like to be resteemed just leave me a reply and I will unfollow and stop resteeming your posts immediately. And BTW, before flagging or calling me a spammer… just read what this is all about by clicking on my anonymous angel… it will lead you to my introduction post…

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64284.72
ETH 2650.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79